Google+

March 3, 2015

Subscribe to SLJ

SLJ Young Adult Reviews

For all the latest SLJ reviews and more, subscribe to SLJ today and save 35%!

Heartrending YA Novels by Blockbuster Female Authors

Darkest Part of the Forest

From fan favorites like Holly Black and Gayle Forman to newcomer Aisha Saeed, the following female authors have created works that attest to the power of the imagination and world-building. The editors at Junior Library Guild share these powerful favorites.

Aliens, Mean Girls, and “Speak” Readalikes | What’s Hot in YA

SLJ1502-Nfic5up_LoveandProfanity

From Michael Buckley’s alien-infested YA debut to poigant exlorations on sexual violence and mental illness, the following titles for teens will keep young people coming back for more.

Growing Up in a Cult | SLJ Spotlight

downfrommountain

Four titles that deflty tackle the unusual, unsettling topic of teens growing up in cultlike envinronments.

Teens Review New YA Fantasy by Rachel Hartman, Sarah J. Maas, and E.K. Johnston

court of thorns and roses

SLJTeen’s new teen review group from Kitsap County, WA, has pulled out all the stops for its inaugural column. We have eight reviews, including two very different opinions on Melinda Salisbury’s The Sin Eater’s Daughter.

Top 2015 Titles for Youth in Custody—or in Your Libraries

Left for Dead

After careful consideration and heated debate, the In the Margins committee has selected its best fiction and nonfiction, top 10, and overall selection list of 34 titles. On February 18, it will announce the newest recognition—the Advocacy Award—for authors.

Teens Review Unique Coming-of-Age Novels and a High-Wire Mystery

Five Stages of Andrew Brawley

The setting for The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley is the hospital pediatric ward, while Billy Kinsey in The Tragic Age deals with having a dysfunctional family by reading Heidigger. The Storyspinner, a fantasy/mystery mash-up, should be just the ticket for readers looking for a new scrappy heroine for which to cheer.

Girl Power, High Fantasy, and Unconventional Lit | What’s Hot in YA

1501-Fic9up-Dayton

Highly illustrated novels, out-of-the-ordinary narratives, and titles with female leads and fascinating world-building are just some of the YA books that are on SLJ editors’ radar. See what else is trending in teen lit.

High Marks from Teens for Medieval Magic and McCloud’s “The Sculptor”

Scott McCloud

Science continues to surface in contemporary fiction, and titles with magical settings still hold their edge. Scott McCloud’s impactful graphic novel The Sculptor examines one man’s countdown through his last 200 days alive.

Bewitching Readalikes for Joseph Delaney’s “The Last Apprentice” in Honor of “Seventh Son” Film

seventhsonmovie

Another reader-favorite young adult book series makes its big-screen debut on February 6. Based on Joseph Delaney’s “The Last Apprentice” adventure/fantasy series, Seventh Son is set during a time of enchantment, when supernatural evil threatens all of humankind.

From the Bell Tower to the City Gates, Teens Review Titles by Kristen Simmons, Jennifer Niven, and More

All the bright places

Our teen reviewers offer up a big dose of contemporary coming-of-age fiction, with just a dash of dystopia. The featured titles touch on teen suicide, PTSD, sexism, mental illness, and more.

Upcoming Diverse Titles, Light Romance, and Magical Realism | What’s Hot in YA

Larbalestier

As we close 2014, it’s heartening to see that the new year will be filled with novels featuring diverse teens, fanciful plotlines, and lots of romance. From Justine Larbalestier’s Razorhurst and Jennifer Niven’sAll the Bright Places to Stacy Lee’s Under the Painted Sky and Cindy Rodriguez’s , young adult fans will have lots to look forward to in 2015.

Books to Increase Awareness of the Cycles of Poverty, Race, and Incarceration

lionheart

By listening to the voices of those who have experienced racism, time in prison, and life on the streets, readers of these titles can begin to learn how to break the cycle, and be inspired by those have.

Teens Review the Latest from Holly Black, Novelized Bio of Malcolm X, and More

Darkest Part of the Fores

Teens share their thoughts about upcoming YA books that feature faeries, whales, and pickup lines along with a fictionalized account of the life of Malcolm X.

Teens Review an Intersex YA Novel, Yansky’s Latest, and More

alex as well

Brian Yansky switches from aliens to ghost hunters with his latest title, Utopia, Iowa, while Australian YA author Alyssa Brugman introduces us to Alex, an intersex teen seeking to define herself.

College Daze: YA Novels that Tackle the Undergraduate Years | SLJ Spotlight

EH_141125_SchoolDaze

Three YA novels explore the limbo between high school and college.

LGBTQ Fiction, Reimagined Fairy Tales, & Horror | What’s Hot in YA

brugman

From an anthology of writings by LGBTQ teens to R.L Stine’s newest entry in the “Fear Street” saga, the latest books for teens are sure to pique readers’ interest and keep them coming back for more.

Teens Review the Latest from Sedgwick, Barnes, and Serle

ensnared

Check out the high praise from teen reviewers for titles by Jennifer Lynn Barnes, Marcus Sedgwick, and more. Read on to find out what some of YA’s hottest authors are delivering to shelves this fall and winter.

The ‘Red Band Society’ and Beyond: YA Novels About Life, Death, and Love

redbandsociety

Filled with humor and heartbreak, poignant emotion, and amazing instances of courage, these young adult offerings are sure to captivate fans of the Red Band Society TV show and John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars.

Teens Review ‘The Bane Chronicles’, and Latest from Ally Condie, C.J. Lyons, and Sarah Zettel

Atlantia

Our group of teen reviewers share a pair of love letters to The Bane Chronicles; offer their thoughts on the second installment of the “Palace of Spies” series by Sarah Zettel; and showcase titles dealing with agoraphobia and a world divided between those above and below.

Hollywood Starlets, Charming Con Men, & Lethal Assassins | What’s Hot in YA

Sundquist_We should hang out

From Ally Condie’s /Atlantia to Jason Reynolds’s The Boy in the Black Suit, these latest books for teens will inspire, infuriate, and tug at the hearstrings (and nerves) of readers.