Google+

July 22, 2014

Subscribe to SLJ

2014 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award Finalists Announced

Winger

The Assembly on Literature for Adolescents (ALAN) of the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) has announced the finalists for the 2014 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award for Young Adult Fiction. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, July 30th.

SLJTeen Chats with Emily Kiebel, Debut Author of ‘Serenade’

Serenade

SLJTeen chats with debut author and choral singer Emily Kiebel about her novel Serenade, which focuses on a teen overcoming her grief at her father’s death while learning that she comes from a long line of sirens.

Teens Review ‘The Burnouts’, ‘Like No Other’, and ‘Illusive’

The Burnouts

Two of the three titles reviewed by teens in this column are written by authors being featured on SummerTeen 2014—Una LaMarche and Lex Thomas. Register now to see all of them live on camera, on July 24.

Teens Review ‘Trouble’, ‘The Dare’, a New Ida Tarbell Bio, and More

The Dare

Fans of realistic fiction have a boatload of titles to choose from this summer. There’s the bad boy/good girl plot, the summer dare, teen pregnancy, and choosing between family and self. SLJTeen reviewers suggest these possible additions to beach reads lists.

A Collection Built Around Its Community—Incarcerated Teens | YA Underground

Black Sheep

To add diversity to your collection, or build one that considers your community’s demographics, consider these titles that you may have missed, including Coe Booth’s middle-grade debut and a memoir by an undocumented immigrant.

Star-crossed Love, Diabolical Mean Girls, and Unsolved Historical Mysteries | What’s Hot in YA

otherbound

Looking for titles to share for the summer reading crowd? The following picks will intrigue teens looking for their next YA fix, whether it be the latest in science fiction, graphic novels, DIY guides, or heartbreaking true stories.

Teens Review Coldplay’s ‘Ghost Stories,’ ‘Me. I Am Mariah,’ and ‘Kirby: Triple Deluxe’

Ghost Stories

The teens at Floral Park (NY) Memorial High School share their thoughts on recent music releases (Ghost Stories and Me, I am Mariah) and video games (Kirby: Triple Deluxe).

Teens Review April Henry’s Latest, Debut British Fantasy, and More

Reckoning

Teens tackle: a road trip to the Northern Lights, a wish for life to be “just like the movies,” a new thriller from the master April Henry, and a YA debut fantasy from a best-selling British author.

Tom Cruise’s Sci-Fi Thriller and a Round-Up of Out-of-this-World Reads for Teens

End of Tomorrow

Edge of Tomorrow, an adrenaline-charged blockbuster, blasts into theaters on June 6. Whether dipping into time-touring paradoxes, unwelcome alien intruders, the perilous consequences of science misused, or warp-velocity adventure, the riveting reads assembled here will reel in moviegoers as well as genre enthusiasts.

Teens Review Latest from Neon Trees, Hunter Hayes, and FIFA World Cup

PopPsychology

Neon Trees’s latest release, Pop Psychology, demonstrates growing command of both sound and lyrics. Wunderkind Hunter Hayes brings a new level of class to the often cliched world of country western music. Can’t make the trip to Rio for the 2014 World Cup soccer games? Not a problem—FIFA’s 2014 World Cup Brazil will take you there for a fraction of the cost.

Teens Review ‘Second Star’, ‘Hungry’, and a Second Take on ‘My Last Kiss’

Hungry

Our teen reviewers report on a reimagining of the Peter Pan story, Second Star, and an intriguing look at a world without food, Hungry. The latter title adds to the recent spate of environmental fiction in YA lit.

Explorations of Gender & Sexuality in New YA Fiction | SLJ Spotlight

SLJ1405w-BK-Spot_F9up-TN

Boy meets boy, girl meets girl, and girl becomes genie in this diverse collection of coming-of-age novels that explore gender and sexuality.

Gothic Romances, Sci-Fi Adventures, and a John Green Readalike | What’s Hot in YA

LetsGetLost

Looking for a John Green readalike? Search no further than Adi Alsaid’s Let’s Get Lost. Carlos Ruiz Zafon’s eerie novel set in Barcelona will entice and haunt teens. And if you thought the dystopian and paranormal novels have worn out their welcome—Michelle Krys, Catherine Linka, and Kelsey Foster bring fresh takes to the tried-and-true genres. The following young adult, nonfiction, and crossover titles will grab reluctant and avid readers alike.

Teens Review ‘Shatter Me’, ‘MLB 14: The Show’, ‘Mario Golf: World Tour’

Shatter Me

Dub-step violin? You have got to give Lindsey Stirling’s album Shatter Me a listen. Like baseball and golf but would rather play indoors than out? MLB 14: The Show and Mario Golf: World Tour to the rescue!

“In the Margins” 2014 Nominees Announced

Caged Warrior

In the Margins (ITM), under the umbrella of Library Services for Youth in Custody, has announced the nominated titles for their 2014 book list. A couple may be familiar, but there are definitely some that will be new to you.

Teens Review Latest from Cremer, ‘One Man Guy’, ‘One Last Kiss’, and More

One Man Guy

Need to find something new to put in the hands of Downton Abbey followers? Love by the Morning Star is just the ticket. Andrea Cremer’s steampunk/alternative history title will delight fans. And check out a haunting readalike for Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall called My Last Kiss.

Continuations of Popular Middle-Grade and YA Series | Fiction Series Update

SLJ1405w-FseriesUpdate-TN

The latest “Origami Yoda” book, a new title by Shannon Hale, and the conclusion to “The Darkborn Legacy” trilogy top our list of exciting new additions to popular series fiction for middle-grade and YA readers.

This article was published in School Library Journal's May 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Conclusions to Bardugo’s, Cass’s, and Taylor’s Sagas and More | What’s Hot in YA

God & Monsters

After teens have devoured the final volumes in the popular fantasy series by Leigh Bardugo, Kiera Cass, and Laini Taylor out this spring, offer the following hot picks in fiction, graphic novels, and nonfiction. Whether a fantasy die-hard or a fan of contemporary fiction with diverse characters, readers will find a smorgasbord of engrossing titles in these selections.

2014 YALSA Teens’ Top Ten Nominees Announced

Teens Top Ten YALSA

YALSA recently announced the 25 Teens’ Top Ten Nominees for 2014. Teens are encouraged to read the titles before the national Teens’ Top Ten vote, which starts August 15 and goes through Teen Read Week, from October 12-18.

Teens Review Titles Featuring Rats, Philosophers, Time Travel, and More

Just Myrto

In Terence Blacker’s The Twyning, rats aren’t bad, just misunderstood—a lot like teens. Just Myrto brings ancient Greek society to the YA lit world, and our reviewer couldn’t be happier about it. Read on for more reviews and title tidbits.