Google+

July 28, 2014

Subscribe to SLJ

Sketching Celebrities | SLJ Spotlight

ArtistsWritersThinkersDreamers

James Gulliver Hancock’s new nonfiction title offers a charming and whimsical look at well-known figures through drawing.

A New Look at Peter Pan

A New Look at Peter Pan

For such a big fan of fairy tales, you would think that I’d have a healthy appreciation for one of the 20th Century’s preeminent fairy tale creations, J.M. Barrie’s Peter Pan. But in truth, I’ve never much cared for the little imp, even now that my 4-year-old son is obsessed with him and has me [...]

The Numberlys Imag.N.O.Tron | Touch and Go

photo

Find out what Moonbot Studios, that “secret zero-gravity colony inhabited by interstellar beings” in Shreveport, LA, has been up to. Once again, it defies reality.

Folklore and fantasy thrive in “Midwinterblood”| Audio Pick

midwinterblood

This unusual book for teensis is comprised of seven vignettes, with settings ranging from the future to Viking times and a variety of characters, including vampires, ghosts, and humans all based on the Scandinavian island of Blessed.

Art Heist Capers, Super-Powered Fantasies, and Creepy Horror Tales | What’s Hot in YA

Kiss of Deception

With works by heavy hitters such as Scott Westerfeld, Gregory Maguire, Andrew Smith, Katherine Paterson, Jacqueline Woodson, and Maggie Stiefvater, this month’s column is chock-full of upcoming YA and nonfiction titles that will have teens adding to overflowing TBR piles.

New Books from Alex Award Winners — The Reviews

New Books from Alex Award Winners — The Reviews

Last week Mark put together a terrific list of current books by past Alex Award winners. Today, we offer two reviews from that group. We begin with the second book by Lisa O’Donnell, Closed Doors. O’Donnell’s debut, The Death of Bees, won an Alex Award just last year. Our reviewer called The Death of Bees a [...]

2014 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award Finalists Announced

Winger

The Assembly on Literature for Adolescents (ALAN) of the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) has announced the finalists for the 2014 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award for Young Adult Fiction. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, July 30.

SLJTeen Chats with Emily Kiebel, Debut Author of ‘Serenade’

Serenade

SLJTeen chats with debut author and choral singer Emily Kiebel about her novel Serenade, which focuses on a teen overcoming her grief at her father’s death while learning that she comes from a long line of sirens.

A Few Seconds of Radiant Filmstrip

A Few Seconds of Radiant Filmstrip

I mentioned in our Best Books of the Year so far post that “If I’d had a week longer, I would have been able to list a tremendous memoir which we’ll be featuring here shortly.” Well, it’s been shortly, and here it is: Keven Brockmeier’s A Few Seconds of Radiant Filmstrip. As a mention below, [...]

‘Gatsby’ and ‘Brideshead Revisited’ Readalikes for Teens | SLJ Spotlight

even in paradise

Chelsey Philpot’s Even in Paradise and Charles Finch’s The Last Enchantments explore the lush secret lives of the rich and privileged.

Teens Review ‘The Burnouts’, ‘Like No Other’, and ‘Illusive’

The Burnouts

Two of the three titles reviewed by teens in this column are written by authors being featured on SummerTeen 2014—Una LaMarche and Lex Thomas. Register now to see all of them live on camera, on July 24.

Language in Speculative Fiction

Language in Speculative Fiction

Today we review two speculative novels in which language plays an important role. The Word Exchange by Alena Graedon is all about language and the ways that technology changes words and communication. For teens who are as attached to their devices as to most of their actual body parts, this is ideally relevant literary fiction. (Slate titled [...]

“Addiction Incorporated” highlights dangerous dealings of the tobacco industry| DVD Pick

addictionincorporated

An extremely interesting snapshot that gives viewers a chance to watch a rather sordid piece of American corporate history. Researcher Victor DeNoble talks about his research in the 1980s for tobacco giant Philip Morris.

Pierre et le loup | Touch and Go

Pierre et le loup (Camera Lucida/Radio France/France Télévisions)

Sergueï Prokofiev’s ‘Peter and the Wolf’ is often a child’s first introduction to the orchestra. This delightful production of that musical story that can be enjoyed by those miles away from a concert hall….

Incorporating Every Child Ready to Read in Bilingual Storytimes | Libro por libro

SLJ1407-FT_Libro_open-TN

To celebrate the recent Spanish-language launch of the early literacy initiative, Every Child Ready to Read, Libro por libro has selected kid-friendly bilingual and Spanish titles that work well with each of the five practices: talking, singing, reading, writing, and playing.

This article was published in School Library Journal's July 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

My Salinger Year

My Salinger Year

Joanna Rakoff’s wonderfully engaging memoir, My Salinger Year, shares the author’s experiences during the year she moves to New York City straight out of grad school. She sort of maybe wants to be a poet. She knows she wants to work with books. Maybe publishing? She leaves her boyfriend behind, even though he sounds like [...]

Mixing Colors? There’s a Book for That! | SLJ Spotlight

MixitUp-spotlightimage

A new interactive picture book teaches children about creativity, and color.

New Books from Alex Award Winners

New Books from Alex Award Winners

Last year around this time I looked at a far-from-complete list of new books by Alex Award winners to see which ones we had reviewed and might be reviewing. Today, I show my compulsive side by trying to put together a complete list of every 2014 book by a former Alex winner. Altogether, I found [...]

The Avengers return to save the future in Friedman’s “The Ultimates” | Audio Pick

theultimates

The complex plot and unique, developed characters in “The Ultimates” will appeal to listeners who like the Avengers, superheroes, action, adventure, and mystery.

Harrowing Memoirs, Part 2

Harrowing Memoirs, Part 2

Back in January, we looked at a pair of memoirs about young lives stolen through abuse and disease, and today we have two more memoirs touching on the same themes, along with a third which looks at the threat of the law. Unlike Elizabeth Smart’s somewhat older story, the tale of the captivity and dramatic [...]