January 18, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

Stella Diaz Has Something To Say by Angela Dominguez | SLJ Review

Get the latest SLJ reviews every month, subscribe today and save up to 35%.

redstarDOMINGUEZ, Angela. Stella Diaz Has Something To Say. 208p. Roaring Brook. Jan. 2018. Tr $16.99. ISBN 9781626728585.

Gr 3-5 –When Stella was a baby, her family moved from Mexico City to Arlington Heights, near Chicago, where Stella still lives with her divorced mother and supportive older brother. Stella struggles to pronounce English words and regularly attends speech therapy at school. She’s not confident in her Spanish skills either; she never has the right words when her Mexican relatives visit. When Stella learns that she’s an “alien” because she only has a green card, she wonders, “If I become a citizen, will I finally feel normal?” With the help of her family and friends, Stella learns to shine like the star she’s named after as she deals with the class bully, survives her first spelling bee, and proudly aces her oral presentation. Realistic relationships ground this character-driven story; most notably, Stella’s relationships with her loving mother and not-so-great, mostly absent father. School and home life feature prominently. Cultural markers, including food and music, are incorporated into the story just as naturally as the Spanish words explained in context. Dominguez’s black-and-white spot illustrations are friendly and appealingly childlike, providing context and visual variety. According to the author’s note, this story is “82.9 percent based” on Dominguez’s childhood. Like Stella, Dominguez struggled with both languages, was born in Mexico, and had a Vietnamese best friend. VERDICT Fans of Clementine and Alvin Ho will be delighted to meet Stella. A first purchase.–Amy Seto Forrester, Denver Public Library

This review was published in the School Library Journal January 2018 issue.

Share
A Day-Long Celebration of Fandom-Beloved Stories and Characters
Join Library Journal and School Library Journal for our inaugural LibraryCon Live! We’re excited to offer this day-long virtual festival for book nerds, librarians, and fans of graphic novels, sci-fi, and fantasy. Network online with other fans and explore our virtual exhibit hall where you’ll hear directly from publishers about their newest books and engage in live chats with featured authors. You’ll also learn from librarians and industry insiders on how to plan and host your own Comic Con-style event.
Comment Policy:
  1. Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  2. Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  3. Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through (though some comments with links to multiple URLs are held for spam-check moderation by the system). If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.

We accept clean XHTML in comments, but don't overdo it and please limit the number of links submitted in your comment. For more info, see the full Terms of Use.

Speak Your Mind

*