November 22, 2017

The Advocate's Toolbox

A Starred Sequel, a Family Adventure, and Laugh-Out-Loud Stories in the Latest Chapter Books Reviewed

Get the latest SLJ reviews every month, subscribe today and save up to 35%.

SLJ1504-ChapterBks-FicredstarHanlon, Abby. Dory and the Real True Friend. illus. by Abby Hanlon. 160p. (Dory). Dial. Jul. 2015. Tr $14.99. ISBN 9780525428664; ebk. $10.99. ISBN 9780698135956. LC 2014034036.

Gr 2-4 –Dory has quite the imagination. She has a monster for a friend, a fairy godmother who understands her, and a nemesis named Mrs. Gobble Gracker. When Dory starts a new year at school, however, she decides that it’s time to make a real pal. After all, her monster friend caused a lot of trouble. Rosabelle, a girl her age who has an amazing imagination just like Dory seems like a good option. But Rosabelle doesn’t seem to want to spend any time with her. Can Dory win her over? What will happen when Mrs. Gobble Gracker gets in the way? The story is well written, humorous, and engaging. The illustrations are amazingly detailed and complement the text well. The characters are fairly well developed and will grab young readers. Fans of Annie Barrows’s “Ivy and Bean” (Chronicle), Barbara Park’s “Junie B. Jones” (Random), and books with a little bit of humor and fantasy mixed into a school setting will enjoy reading this second installment in the “Dory” series. VERDICT A great addition to any library collection.–Kira Moody, Whitmore Public Library, Salt Lake City, UT

The following titles are reviewed in this month's print issue:

Amateau, Gigi. Two for Joy. illus. by Abigail Marble. 96p. ebook available. Candlewick. Jun. 2015. Tr $14.99. ISBN 9780763630102.

Doodler, Todd H. Super Fly: The World’s Smallest Superhero! illus. by Todd H. Doodler. 115p. Bloomsbury. May 2015. pap. $6.99. ISBN 9781619633780; Tr $14.99. ISBN 9781619633797.

Gay, Marie-Louise & David Homel. The Traveling Circus. illus. by Marie-Louise Gay. 152p. Groundwood. Apr. 2015. Tr $15.95. ISBN 9781554984206; ebk. $14.95. ISBN 9781554987849.

Kredensor, Diane. Buck’s Tooth. illus. by Diane Kredensor. 64p. S. & S./Aladdin. May 2015. Tr $12.99. ISBN 9781481423823.

Olbrys, Brooks. The Adventures of Blue Ocean Bob: A Challenging Job. illus. by Kevin Keele. 56p. Greenleaf. Apr. 2015. Tr $12.95. ISBN 9780982961353; ebk. ISBN 9780982961360. LC 2014941637.

Pinkwater, Daniel. Mrs. Noodlekugel and Drooly the Bear. illus. by Adam Stower. 96p. ebook available. Candlewick. May 2015. Tr $14.99. ISBN 9780763666453.

Poploff, Michelle. Where Triplets Go, Trouble Follows. illus. by Victoria Jamieson. 96p. ebook available. Holiday House. May 2015. Tr $16.95. ISBN 9780823432899; ebk. $16.95. ISBN 9780823433728.

Ravishankar, Anushka. Captain Coconut and the Case of the Missing Bananas. illus. by Priya Sundram. 96p. Tara. May 2015. Tr $16.95. ISBN 9789383145225.

Graphic Chapter Books

Sturm, James, Alexis Frederick-Frost, & Andrew Arnold. Gryphons Aren’t So Great. illus. by James Sturm, Alexis Frederick-Frost, & Andrew Arnold. 40p. (Adventures in Cartooning). First Second. Sept. 2015. Tr $14.99. ISBN 9781596436527.

This article was published in School Library Journal's April 2015 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Share
A Day-Long Celebration of Fandom-Beloved Stories and Characters
Join Library Journal and School Library Journal for our inaugural LibraryCon Live! We’re excited to offer this day-long virtual festival for book nerds, librarians, and fans of graphic novels, sci-fi, and fantasy. Network online with other fans and explore our virtual exhibit hall where you’ll hear directly from publishers about their newest books and engage in live chats with featured authors. You’ll also learn from librarians and industry insiders on how to plan and host your own Comic Con-style event.