May 26, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

YA A to Z: H is for Historical Fiction, a guest post by librarian Amanda Perez

Today in our YA A to Z series, new librarian Amanda Perez joins us to talk about Historical Fiction in YA Lit. Historical Fiction authors go through a great deal of research in order to present their readers with an accurate window into history.  The final product presented to teen readers is often a masterful […]

Book Review: The Night Diary by Veera Hiranandani

Publisher’s description In the vein of Inside Out and Back Again and The War That Saved My Life comes a poignant, personal, and hopeful tale of India’s partition, and of one girl’s journey to find a new home in a divided country It’s 1947, and India, newly independent of British rule, has been separated into two countries: Pakistan and […]

Book Review: One True Way by Shannon Hitchcock

Publisher’s description Welcome to Daniel Boone Middle School in the 1970s, where teachers and coaches must hide who they are, and girls who like girls are forced to question their own choices. Presented in the voice of a premier storyteller, One True Way sheds exquisite light on what it means to be different, while at the same […]

Book Review: One True Way by Shannon Hitchcock

Publisher’s description Welcome to Daniel Boone Middle School in the 1970s, where teachers and coaches must hide who they are, and girls who like girls are forced to question their own choices. Presented in the voice of a premier storyteller, One True Way sheds exquisite light on what it means to be different, while at the same […]

30 Realistic & Historical Fiction Books with Black Main Characters

A bevy of 2018 YMA winners and forthcoming 2018 middle grade and YA titles to excite readers.

The 2018 Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction

from O’Dell committee chair Deborah Stevenson: The 2018 Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction goes to Beyond the Bright Sea, by Lauren Wolk, published by Dutton Books for Young readers, an imprint of Penguin Young Readers. The isolated world of the Elizabeth Islands off of mainland Massachusetts in 1925 comes to life as our narrator, […]

YA: Stellar New Titles from John Green, Philip Pullman, Libba Bray, & More | November 2017 Xpress Reviews

New fantasy titles from Bray and Pullman; John Green’s Turtles is a hit; and an exciting LGBTQ anthology are among November’s YA Xpress.

This article was published in School Library Journal's November 2017 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Intertwined Stories

Here’s a day of intertwined stories — stories told through multiple points of view, offering many perspectives on a single converging plot. Yay! I do love novels with multiple POVs; it can give the read a rhythmic, regular pace through to the end. Here we have straight up realistic, historical fiction and we have a mostly realistic but […]

Glow by Megan E. Bryant | SLJ Review

BRYANT, Megan E. Glow. 272p. Albert Whitman. Sept. 2017. Tr $16.99. ISBN 9780807529638; pap. $9.99. ISBN 9780807529652.

Gr 8 Up –Two young women, a century apart, find themselves drawn to the same dangerous glow. Julie, a young woman in the present day, is unable to pay for college after sacrificing her savings to help save her family’s home. In her desperate attempt to forget about her circumstances, Julie looks for a project to occupy her thoughts. During a visit to a thrift store, […]

Blast from the (Recent) Past: 13 Great Middle Grade and YA

Set between 1969 and 2010, these works of historical fiction take readers back to a time that seems at once modern and long ago

This article was published in School Library Journal's August 2017 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

One Last Summer Trip | Adult Books 4 Teens

Pack your bags! The latest crop of can’t-miss Adult Books 4 Teens take readers everywhere from rural Idaho to small-town England to 1950s Appalachia.

Review of the Day: Beyond the Bright Sea by Lauren Wolk

Beyond the Bright Sea By Lauren Wolk Dutton (an imprint of Penguin Young Readers) $16.99 ISBN: 978-11-101-99485-6 Ages 10-14 On shelves now. No author gets a free pass. Your last book have been a spot-on bit of brilliance, lighting up the literary landscape like a thousand Roman candles. Pfui. A writer is only as good […]

A World of Hurt: 7 Dark, Compelling Titles | Adult Books 4 Teens

Teens with an appreciation for gritty, intense reads will appreciate these selections that range from a 19th-century murder mystery to the nonfiction account of two Baltimore teenagers’ scheme to distribute opiates.

Bronze and Sunflower

Guest blogger Fang Jia jointly authored this week’s entry with Mary Ann. In China, Fang teaches Chinese language and literature. Currently, she studies Curriculum and Instruction at Boston College. Bronze and Sunflower Written by Cao Wenxuan, translated by Helen Wang, illustrated by Meilo So Published by Candlewick Press, 2017 Originally published in Mandarin, 2005 ISBN: […]

Laurie Halse Anderson Reflects on the “Seeds of America” Trilogy

Pat Scales speaks with the prolific author about conducting historical research, creating authentic voices, and approaching our nation’s history with honesty.

Assorted Spring Loves | Adult Books 4 Teens

From a dark novel about an obsessive crush to a sci-fi thriller about two teens on the run who fall for each other, the latest offerings for teens represent genre diversity, but all center on love.

Review of the Day: Bronze and Sunflower by Cao Wenxuan, ill. Meilo So

Bronze and Sunflower By Cao Wenxuan Illustrated by Meilo So Translated by Helen Wang Candlewick Press $16.99 ISBN: 978-0-7636-8816-5 On shelves now It’s odd. Parents these days. I meet so many of them that believe that to live in a globalized society it is imperative for their children to learn another language. That’s not the […]

Review of the Day: Bronze and Sunflower by Cao Wenxuan, ill. Meilo So

Bronze and Sunflower By Cao Wenxuan Illustrated by Meilo So Translated by Helen Wang Candlewick Press $16.99 ISBN: 978-0-7636-8816-5 On shelves now It’s odd. Parents these days. I meet so many of them that believe that to live in a globalized society it is imperative for their children to learn another language. That’s not the […]

Audio Book Xpress Review | April 2017

A historical romance that takes place in 14th-century England.

This article was published in School Library Journal's April 2017 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Middle Grade Xpress Reviews | April 2017

A fictional account of real-life Civil War spy, Mary Bowser; a brand-new series that takes place in the Star Wars universe; and the second installment of Kate O’Hearn’s Norse mythology-inspired series

This article was published in School Library Journal's April 2017 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.