June 21, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

Every Day Is Earth Day | Books to Celebrate

Titles to introduce environmental themes, nurture an appreciation of nature, and launch creative projects.

Up Close and Personal with Children’s Book Artists

A set of sterling online resources bring book illustrators into the classroom for look at technique and material, along with some engaging personal stories.

A Place to Start a Family: Poems About Creatures That Build

A Place to Start a Family: Poems About Creatures That Build Written by David L. Harrison and Illustrated by Giles Laroche Published by Charlesbridge in 2018 ISBN 978-1-58089-748-8 Grades PK-6 Book Review Underground, on land, on water, and in the air: animals build shelter for themselves and their offspring. In their latest collaboration author David […]

Understanding—and Teaching—the Five Kinds of Nonfiction

In the last 25 years, informational books for young readers have undergone exciting and dramatic changes, evolving into five distinct categories. Nonfiction author Melissa Stewart lays out the distinctions, offers book recommendations, and suggests an activity for young readers.

Thank You, Earth

Thank You, Earth: A Love Letter to Our Planet Written and photographed by April Pulley Sayre Published by Greenwillow Books, 2018 ISBN #978-0-06-269734-9   Grades K and up   Book Review It’s not just the pretty parts of our planet, but the sometimes slimy, sometimes scary parts and the “pale in-betweens” that are treasured as […]

Apple to Help Chicago Educators Bring Computer Science to the Classroom

In addition to new, lower-priced iPad for schools, Apple is launching a professional development coding program for Chicago educators.

‘Read Woke’ School Reading Challenge Makes an Impact

A school librarian’s reading initiative highlights social justice.

This article was published in School Library Journal's April 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Cosplay Creation with Elementary Students

Cosplay builds confidence and critical thinking. It can also invite discussion about gender stereotypes, body shaming, media representations, and more.

Between the Lines: How Ernie Barnes Went from the Football Field to the Art Gallery

Between the Lines: How Ernie Barnes Went from the Football Field to the Art Gallery Written by Sandra Neil Wallace and Illustrated by Bryan Collier Published in 2018 by Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers ISBN 978-1-4814-4387-6 Grades K-5 Book Review “Ernest looked around his neighborhood. It no longer appeared ordinary. In the movement […]

Five Tips For a Successful Mystery Skype

Put students in control, check time zones, and other suggestions to make the most of Mystery Skypes, in which students try to guess another classroom’s geographical location.

This article was published in School Library Journal's March 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Check Out SLJ’s National Poetry Month Pinterest Board

Teen librarian Dawn Abron curates a poetry-themed Pinterest board filled with ideas for programming, displays, and more.

Islandborn

Islandborn/Lola: Edicion en espanol de ISLANDBORN Written by Junot Díaz,  illustrated by Leo Espinosa Published by Dial Books ISBN:  978-0735229860 (English)/ ISBN:  978-0525552819 (Spanish) All Ages Book Review “Every kid in Lola’s school was from somewhere else. Hers was the school of faraway places.” But when her teacher asks her class to draw a picture of […]

How To Run a Successful Kids Book Club

Start small. Lead by letting go. Read more tips from experts who run book clubs for kids of all ages.

This article was published in School Library Journal's March 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Black Girls’ Literacies: Merging Theory and Practice

Reporting on the “state of the union” for Black girls and women in our society, the author offers suggestions on how educators can support them.

Through the Lens | Great Books About Photography

Introducing books about visual artists that highlight myriad photographic styles and genres.

2018 Pura Belpre Illustrator Award: La Princesa and the Pea

2018 Pura Belpre Illustrator Award Winner La Princesa and the Pea Written by Susan Middleton Elya and Illustrated by Juana Martinez-Neal Published by G.P. Putnam’s Sons in 2017 ISBN 978-0-399-25156-6 Grades PK – 4   Book Review This retelling of the classic tale “The Princess and the Pea” has South American flair and a unique […]

A Lively Database Instruction Game Gets an Upgrade with Digital Badges

A high school librarian improves her popular Search App Smackdown! challenge with badges and breakouts.

Trolling An Underwater Ecosystem: Tinybop Inc.’s “Coral Reef” | Touch and Go

The 10th entry in Tinybop Inc.’s “Explorer’s Library” is now available.

The Word Collector

The Word Collector Written and Illustrated by Peter Reynolds 2018 Orchard Books ISBN 978-0-545-86502-9 Grades K-5 Book Review Fans of Peter Reynolds’ Ish, The Dot, and Happy Dreamer, will be delighted by his latest picturebook, The Word Collector. Reynolds continues his trend of crafting seemingly simple text with significant and lasting meaning, this time with […]

Incarcerated Teens Write Graphic Novels

Students at Birchwood High School, a South Carolina juvenile justice facility, wrote “AIDS in the End Zone” and “Shootout: A Tale from the Streets.”