March 22, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

9 Fantasy Must-Reads Featuring Black Main Characters

From mermaids to Marvel tie-ins and more, the following middle grade and YA fantasy novels will fly off shelves.

ALA Office of Intellectual Freedom Launches New Policy Toolkit

The toolkit is a valuable resource for all libraries to help create or revise selection and reconsideration policy.

Great Books: Sweet Treats for Valentine’s Day

Warm up a brisk winter day by showcasing satisfying picture books that abound with sweet valentine wishes, affable hugs and kisses, and the heartfelt affection shared by family and friends.

A Sneak Peek At What’s New in Spanish-Language Publishing

The Northeast chapter of REFORMA had their second annual Spanish-language Book Buzz on Friday, January 12, with keynotes by authors Emma Otheguy and Ernesto Quiñónez. Here are some highlights.

History Has Its Eyes on Her: Biographies of women are a hot trend in children’s publishing

Betsy Bird on the state of women in kids’ books, with stellar titles on girls who run the world.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Fiete Puzzle | Touch and Go

A new app from Ahoiii Entertainment offers children an opportunity to exercise their fine-motor and visual discrimination skills.

33 Titles To Jump-Start Black History Month

In an effort to make our coverage of Black History Month a more nuanced and valuable experience, we’ll be posting several related roundups throughout January and February.

6 Can’t-Miss Gems from 2017 | Adult Books 4 Teens

Sarah Hill presents some titles from last year to be aware of—and bids readers farewell.

A “Man Utterly Beyond Category” | Tonya Bolden on Frederick Douglass

Two hundred years after the birth of the orator, statesman, and human rights activist, the author offers a close look at his life and achievements.

The Life and Times of Frederick Douglass | A Bibliography

A selected bibliography in celebration of the 200th anniversary of the birth of Frederick Douglass.

Sparking the Conversation Through Graphic Novels

New and forthcoming graphic novels address contemporary social issues.

Stock Up On Sports Titles | Fiction & Nonfiction for an Olympic Season

With the arrival of the 2018 Olympics educators can anticipate a spiked interest in sports.

A Little Bit Of This… Hybrids | Great Books

Fans of Jeff Kinney, Dav Pilkey, and Renée Russell have spoken: hybrid fiction is here to stay.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Fox and Sheep’s Movie Creator | Touch and Go

With a variety of backgrounds, characters, and special effects to incorporate, Movie Creator will spark creativity and imaginative play.

10 Books To Read After “The Hate U Give”

Ten more YA titles that explore the lives of Black teens, police brutality, and systemic racism.

How To Make Electricity | Touch and Go

Introducing interactive experiments on the iPad that demonstrate principles of electricity.

13 Book-to-Screen Titles To Look for in 2018

A Wrinkle in Time, The Hate U Give, Paddington, and more are coming to a theater near you in the new year.

New Titles from Old Friends John Scalzi, Tracy Chevalier, and Lee Child | Adult Books 4 Teens

These acclaimed authors present an intriguing short story anthology, a Shakespeare retelling, and a novel whose characters literally defy death.

A Passion for Words: Three Bibliophiles Who Changed the World

Three 2017 picture book bios present a uniquely envisioned portrait of its subject, while also celebrating the power of books to express ideas, rouse imaginations, and inspire discussion.

Digging In: Underground with Nature Books

Explore all the wondrous ups and downs of nature—earth and life science has never been so fascinating.