Related

ALL RELATED COVERAGE

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors

Powerful, Gripping, Important, and Timely—But is It Distinguished?

Nominations Catch-Up: Jackie, Parker, and Ivy

Damaged Families, Resilient Girls

Tweens & Teens Review Girl-Powered Middle Grade & Thrilling YA

WATCH: National Book Award Finalist Elizabeth Acevedo Talks About Representation in YA Lit

Kate DiCamillo on "Louisiana's Way Home"

45 Phenomenal Titles | November 2018 Stars

Books Exploring Privilege Are Part of the Diversity Discussion

PREMIUM

Adulting via Audio: 23 Teen-Friendly Adult Audiobooks

Goblins, Elves, and a Different Kind of Book

Will Woodson Win?

X Marks the Spot (In My Heart)

A Graphic Memoir, a Sequel, Debuts, and More | Pondering Printz

Horses, Houdini, & Haunted Theme Parks: 10 Favorite Fall Graphic Novels for Tweens & Teens

Co-Authors and Sequels: Penderwicks 5 and a Zombie in a Chicken Suit

Lesson Plans for "Dear Substitute" by Liz Garton Scanlon and Audrey Vernick

Angela Dominguez Visits The Yarn: Episode #80

Latest New and Forthcoming YA and MG To Know

Another Look at a Heavy Medal Readers' Favorite

20 Middle Grade Books About Ghosts, Witches, and More

National Book Award Finalists Could Be Newbery Medalists, Too

SLJ Reviews of the Finalists for the 2018 National Book Awards

Book Review: The Collectors by Jacqueline West

Cozying Up with Mysteries | New Titles for Middle Grade Readers

Thoughts on Indigenous Peoples Day

It's Time To Start Nominating

Born To Edit: A Profile of Little, Brown's Alvina Ling

Sneak Peek at New Diary of a Wimpy Kid, "The Meltdown"

12 Picture Books That Showcase Native Voices

Post-it Note Reviews of Elementary and Middle Grade Books

27 Middle Grade and YA Latinx Titles for National Hispanic Heritage Month and Beyond

Nat Geo Hopes Fact-Based Fiction Will Inspire New Explorers

Reimagining Our Futures: YA Authors On Feminism, Fairy-Tales, & Fantasy

Getting Real with Janelle Milanes About “Analee, in Real Life”

Latinx Authors & Illustrators Launch “Las Musas”

SLJ's Reviews of the 2018 National Book Award Longlisters

12 Picture Books for the Fall 2018 Holiday Season

Refugee Stories Are Just the Beginning: How Fiction Opens Children’s Minds

Photos Tell the Story

Nova Ren Suma On Ghosts, Unreliable Narrators, & "A Room Away from the Wolves"

12 YA Titles To Give You Thrills & Chills

Courtney Summers On True Crime, Podcasts, and “Sadie”

PREMIUM

Latchkey

Teens who enjoy reading extended fight scenes and want immersion in an extraordinary world will enjoy Kornher-Stace’s second act. A strong choice for speculative fiction shelves.
PREMIUM

All the Stars Denied

An intense and enlightening historical fiction title that’s highly recommended for all libraries.
PREMIUM

Surprise!

Readers will enjoy this fun perspective on the mischievous and furry camp thieves. A lively choice for storytime sharing.
PREMIUM

I Am Human: A Book of Empathy

An age-appropriate and hopeful look at what it means to be a connected human on this planet. It can be read as a picture book with big ideas or used as a great discussion starter.
PREMIUM

Me, Myselfie, & I: A Cautionary Tale

A worthwhile family read.
PREMIUM

Blanca & Roja

A magical and lovely first purchase for all YA shelves.
PREMIUM

Billy Stuart and the Zintrepids

Jon Scieszka's "Time Warp Trio" meets "Geronimo Stilton" in this full-color hybrid, which should appeal to reluctant readers and avid readers alike.
PREMIUM

Garbage Island

This entertaining animal adventure stands out from similar fare because of its strong characters and an underlying message of environmental awareness.
PREMIUM

The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy

An incredible, must-have follow-up full of old characters and new, blood and guts, and a delightful barrage of sarcasm.
PREMIUM

Unwritten

An original take on metafictional themes. Hand to readers who enjoy Cornelia Funke's Inkheart.
PREMIUM

Lucy and the String

This perfect blend of words and pictures is sure to have kids chuckling and perhaps trying their own string creations. A fun addition for most libraries.
PREMIUM

The Red Ribbon

An additional purchase for most young adult collections.
PREMIUM

Dear Professor Whale

An ode to the joys of friendship and letter-writing, this is a great choice for early chapter book readers.
PREMIUM

The Eleventh Trade

Sami's story sheds light on the special challenges, determination, faith, resilience, and post-traumatic stress that impact and shape the lives of many refugees.
PREMIUM

Auntie Luce's Talking Paintings

An excellent selection for exploring deep connections to Haiti through love, family, history, and art.
PREMIUM

Girls on the Line

Recommended purchase, especially for YA collections serving older teens or new adults.
PREMIUM

Galápagos Girl/Galapagueña

Readers are presented here with an unsung and worthy heroine. Recommended for picture book and biography collections.
PREMIUM

Extravaganza at the Plaza

An ideal selection for readers who enjoy Junie B. Jones and Judy Moody.
PREMIUM

The Wind Called My Name

A much-needed and well-written addition to the slate of middle grade novels set during the Great Depression.
PREMIUM

Henri's Hats: Pixar Animation Studios Artist Showcase

A general purchase, particularly where the illustrator's works are popular or there is demand for the series.
PREMIUM

Uncharted

A must-have where fantastical thrillers are popular.
PREMIUM

The Spy with the Red Balloon

A fast-moving read sure to delight those who enjoy historical fiction. Purchase where the first entry is popular, as well as where there are fans of books set during this period by Markus Zusak and Elizabeth Wein.
PREMIUM

Baby's Firsts

This title will have an audience in public libraries because of its universal theme. Sure to be a staple in baby storytime.
PREMIUM

The Kaleidoscope Sisters

A unique story for teens who enjoy fantasy and tragedy. Give this to fans of The Book Thief by Markus Zusak or If I Stay by Gayle Forman
PREMIUM

The Leading Edge of Now

An additional purchase where beach reads with weighty emotional themes and a touch of melodrama are popular.
PREMIUM

Pearl

Idle's appealing story is a quiet, charming pourquoi tale that will delight young readers and listeners. Perfect for bedtime or anytime sharing.
PREMIUM

The Tiger's Egg

A satisfying and humorous read-aloud for preschool groups and a good bedtime story, too.
PREMIUM

Ignite the Stars

A strong first book in a sure-to-be successful science fiction series.
PREMIUM

You Have the Right To Remain Fat

An important, no-nonsense voice for self-acceptance that will resonate with most readers, especially those grappling with body image issues.
PREMIUM

Grizzly Boy

Suited for one-on-one sharing, this book could be used to spark discussions about imaginative play and following rules.
PREMIUM

The Comic Book Story of Professional Wrestling: A Hardcore, High-Flying, No-Holds-Barred History of the One True Sport

An excellent addition to nonfiction graphic novel collections.
PREMIUM

Muse of Nightmares

Purchase where Taylor has a loyal following and where the previous title is popular.
PREMIUM

Louisiana's Way Home

A thoughtful and finely written story that earns its place among DiCamillo's other beloved novels.
PREMIUM

The Bottle Imp of Bright House

A recommended secondary purchase for medium and large middle grade collections. Fans of Roald Dahl's James and the Giant Peach or Louis Sachar's Sideways Stories From Wayside School will appreciate Llewellyn's morbid sense of humor.
PREMIUM

The Perfect Secret

This sequel shines a light on topics that many young readers are aware of and eager to discuss. The author provides a space where tweens can read about the social realities that impact themselves and their peers.
PREMIUM

Nipper and the Lunchbox

There are a plethora of books about the faithful companionship of dogs, but this one is a worthy addition to any school and library collection.
PREMIUM

Star in the Jar

A suggested first purchase for all libraries, this selection holds strong appeal for young readers. A perfect choice for bedtime and small group sharing.
PREMIUM

A Is for Artichoke: A Foodie Alphabet from Artichoke to Zest

Foodies will love this celebration of all good things to eat. Also an excellent introduction to more complex culinary vocabulary.
PREMIUM

Poppy and Sam and the Leaf Thief

Highly recommended for most graphic novel collections.
PREMIUM

Onibi: Diary of a Yokai Ghost Hunter

Light on character development and plot but brimming with charm, this stunning volume will enchant ghost story enthusiasts and those interested in Japan.
PREMIUM

Born Scared

Not recommended.
PREMIUM

Sylvia's Bookshop: The Story of Paris's Beloved Bookstore and Its Founder (As Told by the Bookstore Itself!)

A delightful celebration of a brave and entrepreneurial young woman and her illustrious bookshop. Recommended for purchase for larger collections.
PREMIUM

Zenobia

Pair with Eoin Colfer's Illegal to start a dialogue on refugees and immigration.
PREMIUM

Apple in the Middle

A strong story with themes that resonate with many adolescents as they try to figure out who they are in life. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Peaceful Fights for Equal Rights

An ineffectual depiction of peaceful protest with little context or clarity. Librarians should offer Innosanto Nagara's A is for Activist instead.
PREMIUM

Sorrel and the Sleepover

An excellent story to encourage children embarking on new friendships or experiences to be their true selves and a reminder that it takes bravery to open up and share our differences. Great for a friendship-themed storytime or one-on-one sharing.
PREMIUM

The Yin-Yang Sisters and the Dragon Frightful

Expertly crafted, in both word and form, this tale feels old and new and will be gobbled up by kids.
PREMIUM

A Perilous Journey of Danger and Mayhem: A Dastardly Plot

Readers who enjoy nonstop action will want to give this new series a try.
PREMIUM

I'm Ok

The compelling, funny protagonist makes this a solid general purchase for school and public libraries.
PREMIUM

Anna at the Art Museum

Children will relate to Anna and adults may want to use the title as an introduction for a museum visit.
PREMIUM

Annex

A satisfying first installment in what will be a sought-after series.
PREMIUM

The Lying King

An entertaining addition in the vein of the fables of Aesop.
PREMIUM

Love Like Sky

Readers will fall in love with Georgie and her "blended-up" family as they navigate tough challenges and new family dynamics.
PREMIUM

The Opposite of Innocent

A must-have for YA collections.
PREMIUM

Dreamers

This excellent memoir encapsulates the fears, hopes, and dreams that come along with immigrating to a new place and building a new life in an unfamiliar and often hostile landscape. A timely and much-needed selection.
PREMIUM

Quiver

A slow story about families and the difference between love and obedience. Give to thoughtful readers and purchase for medium YA collections.
PREMIUM

The Boneless Mercies

An excellent choice for any YA fantasy collections.
PREMIUM

Carmela Full of Wishes

Carmela's journey of wishing, waiting, and wanting resonates on many levels; an important addition to bookshelves everywhere.
articles

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.