Related

ALL RELATED COVERAGE

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors

Nominations Catch-Up: Jackie, Parker, and Ivy

Damaged Families, Resilient Girls

WATCH: National Book Award Finalist Elizabeth Acevedo Talks About Representation in YA Lit

Kate DiCamillo on "Louisiana's Way Home"

Tweens & Teens Review Girl-Powered Middle Grade & Thrilling YA

45 Phenomenal Titles | November 2018 Stars

Books Exploring Privilege Are Part of the Diversity Discussion

PREMIUM

Adulting via Audio: 23 Teen-Friendly Adult Audiobooks

Goblins, Elves, and a Different Kind of Book

Will Woodson Win?

X Marks the Spot (In My Heart)

A Graphic Memoir, a Sequel, Debuts, and More | Pondering Printz

Horses, Houdini, & Haunted Theme Parks: 10 Favorite Fall Graphic Novels for Tweens & Teens

Co-Authors and Sequels: Penderwicks 5 and a Zombie in a Chicken Suit

Lesson Plans for "Dear Substitute" by Liz Garton Scanlon and Audrey Vernick

Angela Dominguez Visits The Yarn: Episode #80

Latest New and Forthcoming YA and MG To Know

Another Look at a Heavy Medal Readers' Favorite

20 Middle Grade Books About Ghosts, Witches, and More

National Book Award Finalists Could Be Newbery Medalists, Too

SLJ Reviews of the Finalists for the 2018 National Book Awards

Cozying Up with Mysteries | New Titles for Middle Grade Readers

Book Review: The Collectors by Jacqueline West

Thoughts on Indigenous Peoples Day

It's Time To Start Nominating

Born To Edit: A Profile of Little, Brown's Alvina Ling

Sneak Peek at New Diary of a Wimpy Kid, "The Meltdown"

12 Picture Books That Showcase Native Voices

Post-it Note Reviews of Elementary and Middle Grade Books

27 Middle Grade and YA Latinx Titles for National Hispanic Heritage Month and Beyond

Nat Geo Hopes Fact-Based Fiction Will Inspire New Explorers

Reimagining Our Futures: YA Authors On Feminism, Fairy-Tales, & Fantasy

Getting Real with Janelle Milanes About “Analee, in Real Life”

Latinx Authors & Illustrators Launch “Las Musas”

SLJ's Reviews of the 2018 National Book Award Longlisters

12 Picture Books for the Fall 2018 Holiday Season

Refugee Stories Are Just the Beginning: How Fiction Opens Children’s Minds

Nova Ren Suma On Ghosts, Unreliable Narrators, & "A Room Away from the Wolves"

12 YA Titles To Give You Thrills & Chills

Photos Tell the Story

Courtney Summers On True Crime, Podcasts, and “Sadie”

PREMIUM

Sports Are Fantastic Fun!

This book is fantastic fun and a strong addition to any nonfiction collection.
PREMIUM

Interrupting Chicken and the Elephant of Surprise

Multiple award-winning author and illustrator Stein has created a noteworthy title for library shelves in addition to his already beloved collection of picture books. A terrific choice for one-on-one and small group sharing.
PREMIUM

Star Wars Lost Stars: Vol. 1

Perfect for reluctant readers and anyone who enjoys the "Star Wars" franchise.
PREMIUM

Joy

Cheery illustrations enhance this uplifting story about a young girl and her grandmother.
PREMIUM

The Stuff of Stars

An inspiring match of writing and art. Perfect for one-on-one sharing.
PREMIUM

Under the Same Sky

A delightful book with wide appeal that should be welcome in most collections.
PREMIUM

The Flight of Swans

A finely crafted and compelling fairy-tale retelling. Hand to voracious fantasy readers and fans of Gail Carson Levine and Shannon Hale.
PREMIUM

Holes in the Sky

Most libraries will welcome Polacco's message of understanding and mutual affection. The length of the narrative seems to suggest a one-on-one read.
PREMIUM

To Be Honest

A first purchase for libraries serving adolescents.
PREMIUM

Where She Fell

A solid purchase for middle and high school libraries where survival fiction is in demand.
PREMIUM

The Girl with the Dragon Heart

Recommended for fans of Tamora Pierce and Gail Carson Levine, or anyone looking for a book which features strong women who save the day.
PREMIUM

Come November

With an engaging plot premise, a strong, flawed heroine and a touch of romance, this book will fly off the shelf.
PREMIUM

Better You Than Me

A feel-good story with a few life lessons. A solid purchase for most middle school collections.
PREMIUM

You Don't Know Everything, Jilly P.

Gino's sophomore effort is every bit as affecting and important as their first novel, George. Jilly is a realistic role model, particularly for young white readers, on how to listen with an open heart, build authentic friendships, and use one's privilege for good.
PREMIUM

Soof

A poignant and well-crafted tale for fans of Weeks's previous novels and readers who enjoy character-driven family narratives set in small towns.
PREMIUM

The Darkdeep

Swiftly paced and peppered with wit, this darkly entertaining tale is sure to engage horror fans.
PREMIUM

Peace and Me

A beautifully executed, powerful book. A remarkable addition to illustrated biography collections.
PREMIUM

Rock What Ya Got

A book with a terrific message about finding the best parts of ourselves without judgment, and reminding all readers to "rock what ya got!" An excellent addition to picture book shelves.
PREMIUM

Part of Your World: A Twisted Tale

Purchase where retellings and mermaid fantasies are popular.
PREMIUM

Explorer Academy: The Nebula Secret

Nonstop action and a mix of full-color photographs and drawings throughout make this appealing to aspiring explorers and reluctant readers alike, and the cliffhanger ending ensures they'll be coming back for more.
PREMIUM

Ra the Mighty: Cat Detective of Pharaoh's Court

A charming page-turner of a mystery; recommend to cat lovers and young Egyptologists.
PREMIUM

Noodleheads Find Something Fishy

A must-buy for graphic novel collections.
PREMIUM

Will You Help Me Fall Asleep?

. This zany offering is not a typical bedtime story; the teacher's relaxation method may be useful for even the youngest listener at the end of day. Recommended.
PREMIUM

Be Everything at Once: Tales of a Cartoonist Lady Person

Recommended for most graphic novel collections.
PREMIUM

Spying on Whales: The Past, Present, and Future of Earth's Most Awesome Creatures

A fast, fun, and informative read that is ideal for research and pleasure alike.
PREMIUM

Spill Zone: The Broken Vow

Between Westerfeld's masterly storytelling and Puvilland's impeccable art, this is a must-read for Spill Zone fans.
PREMIUM

Nowhere Boy

Thoughtfully touching on immigration, Islamophobia, and terrorism, this novel is a first-purchase. Hands to fans of Alan Gratz's Refugee.
PREMIUM

Earthrise: Apollo 8 and the Photo That Changed the World

A fine snapshot of a milestone event in U.S. and world history for robust nonfiction picture book collections.
PREMIUM

Pulp

A sweeping, engrossing drama full of important moments. Recommended for all library collections.
PREMIUM

The Extremely Inconvenient Adventures of Bronte Mettlestone

This quirky and endearing adventure set in a captivating, off-beat world is an excellent purchase wherever fantasy circulates well.
PREMIUM

The Colors of the Rain

A strong addition to any middle grade collection in need of nuanced realistic fiction.
PREMIUM

Latchkey

Teens who enjoy reading extended fight scenes and want immersion in an extraordinary world will enjoy Kornher-Stace’s second act. A strong choice for speculative fiction shelves.
PREMIUM

All the Stars Denied

An intense and enlightening historical fiction title that’s highly recommended for all libraries.
PREMIUM

Surprise!

Readers will enjoy this fun perspective on the mischievous and furry camp thieves. A lively choice for storytime sharing.
PREMIUM

I Am Human: A Book of Empathy

An age-appropriate and hopeful look at what it means to be a connected human on this planet. It can be read as a picture book with big ideas or used as a great discussion starter.
PREMIUM

Me, Myselfie, & I: A Cautionary Tale

A worthwhile family read.
PREMIUM

Blanca & Roja

A magical and lovely first purchase for all YA shelves.
PREMIUM

Billy Stuart and the Zintrepids

Jon Scieszka's "Time Warp Trio" meets "Geronimo Stilton" in this full-color hybrid, which should appeal to reluctant readers and avid readers alike.
PREMIUM

Garbage Island

This entertaining animal adventure stands out from similar fare because of its strong characters and an underlying message of environmental awareness.
PREMIUM

The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy

An incredible, must-have follow-up full of old characters and new, blood and guts, and a delightful barrage of sarcasm.
PREMIUM

Unwritten

An original take on metafictional themes. Hand to readers who enjoy Cornelia Funke's Inkheart.
PREMIUM

Lucy and the String

This perfect blend of words and pictures is sure to have kids chuckling and perhaps trying their own string creations. A fun addition for most libraries.
PREMIUM

The Red Ribbon

An additional purchase for most young adult collections.
PREMIUM

Dear Professor Whale

An ode to the joys of friendship and letter-writing, this is a great choice for early chapter book readers.
PREMIUM

The Eleventh Trade

Sami's story sheds light on the special challenges, determination, faith, resilience, and post-traumatic stress that impact and shape the lives of many refugees.
PREMIUM

Auntie Luce's Talking Paintings

An excellent selection for exploring deep connections to Haiti through love, family, history, and art.
PREMIUM

Girls on the Line

Recommended purchase, especially for YA collections serving older teens or new adults.
PREMIUM

Galápagos Girl/Galapagueña

Readers are presented here with an unsung and worthy heroine. Recommended for picture book and biography collections.
PREMIUM

Extravaganza at the Plaza

An ideal selection for readers who enjoy Junie B. Jones and Judy Moody.
PREMIUM

The Wind Called My Name

A much-needed and well-written addition to the slate of middle grade novels set during the Great Depression.
PREMIUM

Henri's Hats: Pixar Animation Studios Artist Showcase

A general purchase, particularly where the illustrator's works are popular or there is demand for the series.
PREMIUM

Uncharted

A must-have where fantastical thrillers are popular.
PREMIUM

A Fall Ball for All

A poetic tribute to autumn winds and woodland animals. Great for storytime or one-on-one sharing.
PREMIUM

The Middle-Route Run

A must for fans of the previous entry.
PREMIUM

Mech Cadet Yu: Vol. 1

A must-have series starter.
PREMIUM

When a Woman Rises

This is a wonderfully written coming-of-age novel with a great balance of anecdotes about the Chiapas culture and a central driving narrative about tragedy and the lives of women bound by culture and expectations.
PREMIUM

My Real Name Is Hanna

A strong choice for young adult shelves.
PREMIUM

Quiet Wyatt

A fantastic addition to library collections, either as a read-aloud or a one-on-one selection.
PREMIUM

Little Whale

Pair this great read-aloud with Sharon Kate Cooper's informative When Whales Cross the Sea: The Gray Whale Migration for a second look at these majestic creatures.
articles

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.