Related

ALL RELATED COVERAGE

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors

SLJ’s Reviews of the 2019 YALSA's Excellence in Nonfiction Award Finalists

SLJ's Reviews of YALSA's 2019 Morris Finalists

Top 10 Audiobooks | 2018

Top 10 Music | 2018

Top 10 Graphic Novels | 2018

Best Adult Books 4 Teens

Will a Middle Grade Title or a Sequel Win the Printz? | Pondering Printz

SLJ Announces Best Books 2018

45 Phenomenal Titles | November 2018 Stars

A Graphic Memoir, a Sequel, Debuts, and More | Pondering Printz

48 Extraordinary Titles | October 2018 Stars

SLJ Reviews of the Finalists for the 2018 National Book Awards

SLJ's Reviews of the 2018 National Book Award Longlisters

50 Spectacular Titles | September 2018 Stars

PREMIUM

The Grand Escape: The Greatest Prison Breakout of the 20th Century

A fantastic pick for avid history readers.

Grand Theft Horse

Superb. Ruffu's tenacity and the book's satisfying conclusion will appeal to fans of John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell's "March" trilogy.

55 Awesome Titles | August 2018

56 Excellent Titles | July 2018

Open Library gets even more open

PREMIUM

Great Preschool Apps | Mix It Up

Review of the Day: Harbor Me by Jacqueline Woodson

Best Books 2018: Nominate Your Favorite Titles!

Love that Book, Loathe that Cover

Review of the Day: I Hate Everyone by Naomi Davis

Best Websites and Best Apps, my faves and a brief reflection on when it really needs to be an app

28 Top Titles | June 2018

Review of the Day: Beavers – The Superpower Field Guide by Rachel Poliquin and Nicholas John Frith

Review of the Day: The Assassination of Brangwain Spurge by M.T. Anderson and Eugene Yelchin

PREMIUM

Bloom

Though limited in content, this is a lovely STEM app for young learners that encourages discussion and exploration, and is a solid choice for a lesson on plant biology.
PREMIUM

Alto's Odyssey

Alto's Odyssey can provide a few minutes of fun, but it will also keep viewers intrigued and challenged for long stretches of play.
PREMIUM

Coral Reef

A playful way to introduce children to the wonders of life beneath the sea.

Review of the Day: The Rabbit Listened by Cori Doerrfeld

Review of the Day: Seeing Into Tomorrow by Richard Wright and Nina Crews

41 Fresh Titles | May 2018

Review of the Day: The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl by Stacy McAnulty

Board Books 2018: What We’ve Got Here Is an Oddly Strong Year

34 Thrilling Titles | April 2018

Review of the Day: My Hair Is a Garden by Cozbi A. Cabrera

Engage Students in Inquiry Based-Learning with Discovery Education’s STEM Connect

Review of the Day – The Faithful Spy: Dietrich Bonhoeffer and the Plot to Kill Hitler by John Hendrix

Review of the Day: The Parker Inheritance by Varian Johnson

Review of the Day: A House That Once Was by Julie Fogliano, ill. Lane Smith

PREMIUM

34 Can't-Miss Titles from SLJ's April 2018 Issue

Review of the Day: The Cardboard Kingdom, edited and illustrated by Chad Sell

The Art of the Book Title: Picture Book Edition

Review of the Day: The Book of Boy by Catherine Gilbert Murdock

Review of the Day: It’s Springtime, Mr. Squirrel! by Sebastian Meschenmoser

Newbery / Caldecott 2019: Spring Prediction Edition

Review of the Day – Irving Berlin: The Immigrant Boy Who Made America Sing by Nancy Churnin

38 Exciting Titles | March 2018

Review of the Day: The Journey of Little Charlie by Christopher Paul Curtis

PREMIUM

How To Make Electricity

The app is well suited as an accompaniment to upper elementary or middle school classrooms studying electricity.
PREMIUM

Movie Creator

Easy to use and valuable as an educational tool in the home and classroom.
PREMIUM

Sim Cell

Background knowledge is a prerequisite for this game that explores concepts in molecular biology.
PREMIUM

Movie Creator

Easy to use and valuable as an educational tool in the home and classroom.
PREMIUM

Sim Cell

Background knowledge is a prerequisite for this game that explores concepts in molecular biology.
PREMIUM

How To Make Electricity

The app is well suited as an accompaniment to upper elementary or middle school classrooms studying electricity.

Review of the Day: Can I Touch Your Hair? by Irene Latham & Charles Waters

Review of the Day: The Mad Wolf’s Daughter by Diane Magras

39 Thrilling Titles | February 2018

Review of the Day: Hazelnut Days by Emmanuel Bourdier, ill. ZAÜ

Review of the Day: Nothing Stopped Sophie by Cheryl Bardoe and Barbara McClintock

Newbery / Caldecott 2018: Final Prediction Edition

Review of the Day: Baby Monkey, Private Eye by Brian Selznick and David Serlin

25 Authors for Teens Share Their 2018 Writing Resolutions

41 Stellar Titles | January 2018

Review of the Day: Julián Is a Mermaid by Jessica Love

The Lost Reviews 2017: Books and Their Hooks

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day Thirty-One – 2017 Picture Books

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day Thirty – 2017 Middle Grade Novels

The Year in SLJ Covers | 2017

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day Twenty-Eight – 2017 Nonfiction Chapter Books

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day Twenty-Seven – 2017 Favorite Nonfiction Picture Books

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day Twenty-Six – 2017 Unique Biographies

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day Twenty-Five – 2017 Transcendent Holiday Picture Books

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day Twenty-Four – 2017 Science & Nature Books

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day Twenty-Three – 2017 American History Books for Kids

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day Twenty-Two – 2017 Fictionalized Nonfiction for Kids

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day Twenty-One – 2017 Funny Books for Older Readers

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day Twenty – 2017 Comics for Kids

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day Nineteen – Early Chapter Books of 2017

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day Eighteen – Easy Books of 2017

2018 Geisel Award Predictions

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day Seventeen – 2017 Poetry Books for Kids

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day Sixteen – 2017 Oddest Books of the Year

Top 20 Books of 2017: 5-1

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day Fifteen: 2017 Fairy Tales / Folktales

Top 20 Books of 2017: 10-6

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day Fourteen – 2017 Fabulous Photography

Top 20 Books of 2017: 15-11

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day Thirteen – 2017 Picture Books With a Message

My favorite tools: Trello

Top 20 Books of 2017: 20-16

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day Twelve – 2017 Translated Picture Books

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day Eleven – 2017 Bilingual Children’s Books

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day Ten – 2017 Math Picture Books

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day Nine – 2017 Picture Book Reprints

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day Eight – 2017 CaldeNotts

2017 Children’s Lit: The Year in Miscellanea

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day Seven – 2017 Funny Picture Books

articles

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.