Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Author
Specific Publisher

How I Found My Very Favorite Book in the Whole Wide World

A Diwali Wish

The Power of Story: Diwali, My Father, and Me

My Top 20 Books of 2020 | Read Woke

The Power of Story: Nurturing Agents of Positive Change

Four Read-Alikes for "Upside-Down Magic" on Disney+

Authors Kate Messner, Traci Sorrell Host "Rethinking Thanksgiving" Webinar | News Bites

Missed the SLJ Summit? You Can Access the Full Program on Demand.

James McBride, Tommy Orange Weigh in on the Classics | SLJ Summit

Activities and Discussion Guides for All Because You Matter

Unteaching the Native Narrative

An Author's Time Travel: Writing Stories for Young Readers To Carry With Them Into the Future

2

Challenging the Classics to Create an Inclusive Curriculum | SLJ Summit 2020

Cynthia Leitich Smith Awarded 2021 NSK Neustadt Prize for Children’s Literature

Books To Blow Your Mind | Pondering Printz

The Power of Story: Recognizing Prejudice

Considering 'The Catcher in the Rye' | Challenging the Classics

1

Navigating the Classics: Two High School Educators Explore Criteria for Inclusion or Replacement

How Native Writers Talk Story: Honoring Authentic Voices in Books for Young People

Muslim Representation in Picture Books

Five Finalists Named for 2020 National Book Award in Young People's Literature

23 Latinx YA Picks for Latinx Heritage Month and All Year Long

SLJ's Reviews of the 2020 National Book Award Finalists

Jacqueline Woodson Named a 2020 MacArthur Fellow

Nicola and David Yoon To Launch YA Romance Imprint By and About People of Color

1

The Power of Story: It Was Not Okay

22 Latinx Middle Grade Titles Filled with Magic, Found Family, and More

Curricular Dystopia in 2020 | Challenging the Classics

The Power of Story to Shape Minds

2

The Power of Story: Immigrant Experiences

New Picture Book Series Aims to Broaden Readers’ Views of Math and Diversity

Get Smart About Voting | Read Woke

Five Debut YA Authors On Their Challenges, Surprises, and Advice for Teens

The Power of Story: Empowering Young Voices

17 Middle Grade and YA Books That Spotlight #BlackJoy

1

Empowering Youth Services Staff to Address Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Literature

1

The Power of Story: Hope

Netflix To Air New Book-Centered Live-Action Preschool Series 'Bookmarks: Celebrating Black Voices'

Teaching Compassion―Not Empathy―and Critical Reading | Opinion

1

An Uncomfortable Truth: 12 books that discuss the 19th Amendment and the limits of women’s suffrage

World-Building as Resistance: YA Author Junauda Petrus Discusses the Importance of Speculative Fiction and the Limits of the White Imagination

Stirring Up Trouble with 'The Crucible' | Challenging the Classics

1

4 YA Authors Discuss Their #OwnVoices Debuts

Strategies for Teaching Seven Native-Centered Books to K-12 Students

Wild Words: Sophia Thakur Discusses the Radical Power of Poetry and the #OwnVoices Books That Have Inspired Her

Latinx Luminaries: Picture book biographies featuring Latinx superstars | Great Books

1

Marvel, Scholastic To Launch New Line of Graphic Novels for Young Readers

Derrick Barnes and Gordon C. James | SLJ Day of Dialog 2020

A New Little Mermaid for Our Times, Courtesy of Jerry Pinkney

Weeding Out Racism’s Invisible Roots: Rethinking Children’s Classics | Opinion

2

Representation Matters: Black Joy Is an Act of Resistance

Criticism Continues as J.K. Rowling Posts Open Letter About Speaking Out On "Sex and Gender Issues"

Sales Soar for Antiracism Books and Titles by Black Creators

Authors Organize Kid Lit Rally for Black Lives on Facebook

Too Good To Be True? Picture Book Portrayals of Police Officers Don’t Reflect Everyone’s Reality | Opinion

Reading Alternatives to Three Problematic Classics

5

Little House, Big Problem: What To Do with “Classic” Books That Are Also Racist

13

15 Titles for Young Readers Celebrating Asian Pacific American Heritage

Meet-Cutes Come in All Colors: 13 Irresistible YA Romances

SLJ Talks to Three Past Winners of the School Librarian of the Year Award

Stay Woke from Home with these Books, Resources, and Articles | Read Woke

Racists Abuse Authors During Virtual Events

7

12 Essential Nonfiction Graphic Novels for Kids and Teens

"Reading Is My Superpower": Cicely Lewis, 2020 School Librarian of the Year

3

The OG of Woke: Walter Dean Myers’s Empathy Inspired a Generation of Authors | Read Woke

History Remixed: How Young Adult Authors Are Revisioning History

Social Justice: Fifteen titles to address inequity, equality, and organizing for young readers | Great Books

Nikole Hannah-Jones Talks to Jason Reynolds and Ibram X. Kendi About Their Book, “Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You”

2

Zetta Elliott Discusses the "Difficult Miracle" of Black Girl Poets

1

When the Books Are People: How the Human Library Targets Bias

Jessica Kim Gets Funny and Talks Family in "Stand Up, Yumi Chung!"

Beyond Black History Month: Duchess Harris Explains the Historical Influence of Black Americans

Schools, Libraries Celebrate World Read Aloud Day 2020

Diverse Editions Pulled Before Release; Author David Bowles, Others, Speak Out Against New Covers of “Classics”

2

Not Quite Banned: Soft Censorship That Makes LGBTQIA+ Stories Disappear

Jerry Craft Breaks Barriers with Historic 2020 Newbery Win

2

Recipes for Resilience: Books About Food | Read Woke

Age-Appropriate Middle Grade and YA Books About the Holocaust

We Need Diverse Books Names 2020 Walter Dean Myers Award Winners

Pondering the Printz Award on Its 20th Anniversary

What’s So Different Now? Everything. And Nothing. | Kate Messner on Writing & Reading in the Trump Era

A Hip-Hop Booklist

1

Best YA Books of the Decade, According to the Best YA Authors of the Year

1

Reshaping the African American Narrative, from Picture Books to YA | Great Books

8 Books About Multiethnic Experiences

David Bowles on Writing for Border Kids in the Age of Trump

1

From Inspiring People to Persistent Challenges, SLJ’s Most Popular Posts of 2019

America Was Great Even Before America: How Eldon Yellowhorn Is Reclaiming Indigenous History

The Problem with Picture Book Monkeys: Racist imagery associating simians with Black people has a long history

7

School Librarian Cicely Lewis Wins 2019 National Teacher Award for Lifelong Readers

“Frindle” Author Remembered | News Bites

YA Anthologies: Discovering and Using New Collections For Teen Readers

The Power of Story—Diverse Books for All Readers

HarperCollins To Launch Native-Focused Imprint

AASL National Conference Keynote Speakers Ask Librarians To Support Diverse Representation and Defuse Bias

The Power of Story is That Stories Are Real

1

Books About Doing Time | Read Woke

2

The Power of Story–Powerful Magic

13 Books for Tweens

3

Celebrate Children's Book Week; Lerner Loves Librarians | News Bites

articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?