Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors

What’s New in LGBTQIA+ YA April 2019

Staff Development: When RA training and diversity training meet

Where do younger teen readers fit in?

Let’s Talk About Sex…Positivity in YA, a guest post by Jenn Bennett

National School Climate Survey results about LGBTQ students’ experiences in school

Author Heidi Daniele Guest Post: The House Children

Post-it Note Reviews of YA Books: Rappers, movie lovers, survivors, and teens who create their own universe

Kids Can Handle Big Decisions . . . If the Adults Get Out of the Way (But Also Don’t), a guest post by Kirstin Cronn-Mills

Feminist AF: Internal Revolutions: Books + Emotional Literacy a guest post by Emma Fernhout

Conversation Snapshots: Let’s Talk YA Lit Titles & YA Programming Success

Sunday Reflections: How the Language of Deconstructing One’s Faith Helped Me Understand Adolescence

Cindy Crushes Programming: The Road to Wrestlemania

New books alert: A fantasy set in Seoul, an anthology featuring interracial and LGBTQ+ relationships, romance via virtual reality, and more

Idea Alert! A Customizable Spinning Wheel for Events & Giveaways

Sunday Reflections: Let’s Update Those YA Lit Articles with Current Titles

Sunday Reflections: Let’s Update Those YA Lit Articles with Current Titles, and more suggestions for how we talk about YA lit in the media

Monsters united can never be defeated: sentimental queer horror YA, a guest post by Hal Schrieve

Beyond the Collection Diversity Audit: Inclusion is More Than a Book, Why we should be auditing all of our library services for inclusion and best practices

Feminist AF: What Makes a YA Book a Feminist YA Book?

Sunday Reflections: The Okay Sign, a Game of Gotcha, and a Symbol of Hate, Why It’s Important to Stay Informed

What’s new in LGBTQIA+ YA March 2019

Cindy Crushes Programming: Riverdale Fan Party

Cindy Crushes Programming: Hosting a Riverdale Fan Party

The Where of it All: Place and Story, a guest post by Kathi Appelt

Sunday Reflections: We Need to Talk About the Way We Talk About Library Patrons

Book Review: Heroine by Mindy McGinnis

Writing with a Trigger Warning, a guest post by Victoria Lee

Book Review: We Set the Dark on Fire by Tehlor Kay Mejia

A Secret Corner, a guest post by Tehlor Kay Mejia

Written Across My Skin, a guest post by Lizzy Mason

Book Review: The Art of Losing by Lizzy Mason

A Tale of Three Printers, portable photo printers that is (Tech Review)

Post-it Note Reviews of YA Books: Undocumented teen voices, the supernatural, writing advice, a searing memoir, and Joan of Arc’s life told through poems

Book Review: The Past and Other Things That Should Stay Buried by Shaun David Hutchinson

Feminist AF: Girls Run the World, a guest post by Jennifer Rummel

New books alert: Writing advice, Latinx teens on a road trip, Muslims in love, and so much more

Cindy Crushes Programming: Hosting a Fortnite Party, by Cindy Shutts

Cindy Crushes Programming: Hosting a Fortnite Party, by Cindy Shutts

Book Review: Watch Us Rise by Renee Watson and Ellen Hagan

What’s new in LGBTQIA+ YA February 2019

In a Meme Culture, How To Spark Critical Thinking About Images

Highlight Reel: Visual Literacy and the Movies

"In the Margins" 2019 Book Awards Announced

The Life Saving Slogan: You are Not Alone, a guest post by Shelley Sackier

Book Review: LGBTQ: The Survival Guide for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Questioning Teens by Kelly Huegel Madrone

More Than an Identity, by Teen Contributor Elliot

SLJ Diverse Books Survey Page Updated with New Resources, Access to Full Report

Shout! Laurie Halse Anderson Continues to be the Voice We Need Shouting in the World About Sexual Violence in the Life of Teens

Cindy Crushes Programming: Harry Potter Inspired Dragon Eggs

New books alert: YA, middle grade, memoirs, and more!

Merci Suárez Changes Gears, a Lesson Plan and Resource List

Penguin Random House 2019 Showcase: Books featuring coders, witches, royalty, refugees, and circus folk

Picture Books, Novels, and Nonfiction To Foster Digital Citizenship

Using Prevention Science To Address Cyberbullying

Feminist AF Fashions and the YA Characters That Rock Them

Los Angeles Public Library Stepped Up During Teachers' Strike

Book Review: Our Year of Maybe by Rachel Lynn Solomon

Do You Know: Reflection Press & Children’s Books as a Radical Act, a Diversity Audit Resource

To Slang or Not To Slang: Defending authentic language in YA and children’s literature

Cindy Crushes Programming: DIY Silhouette Mugs

Consensus, Fantasy, and the Dark Horse | Pondering Printz

Book Review: The Whispers by Greg Howard

Hip Hop Architecture Camp Brings Urban Planning to Summer Programming

Engaging Young Citizens

2

Women Rule in These Five YA Novels

Helping Patrons Find What They’re Looking for On Our Shelves

How History (and Librarians) Inspire Freedom of the Press, a guest post by Mary Cronk Farrell

Above and Beyond: 4 Nonfiction Titles About Exploring Space

School Library Grant, Exhibition, and More Opportunities | NewsBites

WRITING YOUR OWN STORY (SORT OF), a guest post by Greg Howard

Marley Dias, Allister Chang Among ILA’s “30 Under 30” Literacy Champions

What’s new in LGBTQIA+ YA January 2019

Plan Ahead for Major Anniversaries

Cindy Crushes Programming: Nail Polish Gems

The 2019 Project: Feminist AF!

All the World’s a Stage: Bringing Improv To Your Library

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Spring 2019 Showcase

#ReadForChange: Keep Reading for Change in 2019! a guest post by Marie Marquardt

To the Moon and Beyond: Summer Programming Inspirations for 2019

42 Poetry & Nonfiction Titles To Celebrate the Legacy of Black Creators & Historical Figures

1

A "Lonely Planet" for Libraries

1

NYPL Program Helps MLS Students Gain Practical Experience

Rethinking I Kissed Dating Goodbye: What happens when a book on dating advice for teens is declared harmful years after the fact?

Sexual Assault Discussions | Scales on Censorship

Happy Arguing, a guest post by Arwen Elys Dayton

19 2019 Middle Grade Books To Have On Your Radar

Take 5: Things I Learned at the Library Journal Directors’ Summit

Great Books: Baby Time!

19 2019 YA Books To Have On Your Radar

If You Buy It, Will It Circ? In Defense of Visual Merchandising and Why Public Libraries Should Do More of It

Tween Read-alikes: Books for kids who like these shows and movies

#ReadForChange: Courage in the face of a “Dystopian Reality” in Jennie Liu’s Girls on the Line

Holiday Hacks: Makerspace Crafts

2019 Collection Development Resources, a handy list of resources to help you buy new books in the new year

Book Clubs for Beginner Readers

Tweens, Teens, & Zines at the Library

Book Review: The Resolutions by Mia Garcia

Alexie and Asher Redux | Scales on Censorship

Cultural Humility in Librarianship: What is it? (a guest post by Adilene Rogers)

New and forthcoming YA and MG to know about

articles

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.