Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Author
Specific Publisher

Gail Jarrow Discusses Her Latest Book, Blood and Germs: The Civil War Battle Against Wounds and Disease

The Power of Story: Recognizing Prejudice

Helping Educators Develop Engaged Citizens in the Classroom

1

Children's Publishing Remembers David Gale, Editor Who Championed LGBTQ Literature

How Native Writers Talk Story: Honoring Authentic Voices in Books for Young People

Jacqueline Woodson Named a 2020 MacArthur Fellow

Five Finalists Named for 2020 National Book Award in Young People's Literature

Nicola and David Yoon To Launch YA Romance Imprint By and About People of Color

1

What Would Lunch Lady Do? The Story Behind This Month’s Cover. | From the Editor

Q & A with Rich and Sandra Neil Wallace, Authors of The Teachers March!

The Power of Story: It Was Not Okay

ALA Releases Top 100 Most Banned and Challenged Books of the Decade

1

Cynthia Kadohata and the Redemptive Power of Change

In Deep with Mark Siegel: Saving the World One Graphic Novel at a Time

Aliza Layne Wants Graphic Novels in the Literary Canon

The Power of Story to Shape Minds

2

The Power of Story: Immigrant Experiences

"Abnormal Standard Time": Barbara Dee's Message to Kids Living Through a Pandemic

SLJ Summit 2020 Features Tommy Orange, James McBride and Sessions for This Challenging Time

Five Debut YA Authors On Their Challenges, Surprises, and Advice for Teens

The Power of Story: Empowering Young Voices

"Everybody wants to be known": Jamie Sumner's personal motivation for writing a character with SPD

The Power of Story: Hope

Wendy Wan-Long Shang and Madelyn Rosenberg Return with "Sibling" Novel to "This Is Just a Test"

World-Building as Resistance: YA Author Junauda Petrus Discusses the Importance of Speculative Fiction and the Limits of the White Imagination

4 YA Authors Discuss Their #OwnVoices Debuts

Wild Words: Sophia Thakur Discusses the Radical Power of Poetry and the #OwnVoices Books That Have Inspired Her

Latinx Luminaries: Picture book biographies featuring Latinx superstars | Great Books

1

'Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me,' 'Guts' Win at 2020 Eisner Awards

Friends, Collaborators Remember Magic School Bus Author Joanna Cole

1

July's Debut YA Authors Explore the Hidden Truths, Tropes, and Tragedies Behind Stories

Derrick Barnes and Gordon C. James | SLJ Day of Dialog 2020

A New Little Mermaid for Our Times, Courtesy of Jerry Pinkney

Svetlana Chmakova Returns to a Magical World in ‘The Weirn Books’

Criticism Continues as J.K. Rowling Posts Open Letter About Speaking Out On "Sex and Gender Issues"

2020 Eisner Award Nominations Announced

Jason Reynolds, Ibram Kendi in Conversation | SLJ Day of Dialog 2020

Authors Organize Kid Lit Rally for Black Lives on Facebook

4 Debut YA Authors Center LGBTQIA+ Characters

A Shock to the Conscience: Candy J. Cooper and Marc Aronson Discuss Their Nonfiction Book, 'Poisoned Water,' and the Flint Water Crisis

2020 Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards Announced

J.K. Rowling Releases New Children's Book Online and Announces Illustration Competition

14

Thomas Taylor Weaves More Seaside Spookiness into 'Malamander' Sequel

May YA Debuts: Timing Is Everything

'We Dream of Space' Is Erin Entrada Kelly's Historical Fiction Debut

Matthew Cordell on the Radical Kindness of Fred Rogers and Mister Rogers' Neighborhood

What About Bob? Four Questions for Katherine Applegate on the Highly Anticipated Sequel to "The One and Only Ivan"

1

Racists Abuse Authors During Virtual Events

7

Gene Luen Yang on His Unlikely Journey to Sports Fan

2

COVID-19 Publisher Information Directory

9

On Parental Love & Addiction: Lauren Myracle

#AuthorsTakeAction and Spread Message to Readers: Stay Home

What’s So Funny? Nicole Kronzer and Lyla Lee Trade War Stories About Inner Demons and Being Fat-Shamed

Tomie dePaola Left a Legacy of Comfort, Kindness, and Quality Children's Books

Dav Pilkey, Dolly Parton, and LeVar Burton Offer Stay-at-Home Activities, Read-Alouds

5

DC Launches DC Kids Camp with Videos and Activities from Minh Lê, Gene Luen Yang, Shannon Hale, and More

2

Chris Barton Explains How To Discuss Tough Topics with Children

1

Kid Lit Authors Organize Virtual Book Festival for May

8

Kid Lit Authors Step Up To Help Educators, Students, and Parents

7

2020 Mathical Book Prize Winners Announced

History Remixed: How Young Adult Authors Are Revisioning History

Laurie Halse Anderson Announces "Wonder Women in History," a YA Graphic Novel Anthology

1

March YA Debut Authors on Luck, Hope, and Kindness

What This 12-Year-Old Author Wants Readers To Know About Autism

Tennessee Lawmakers Propose Parental Oversight Bill for Public Library Collections | News Bites

Nikole Hannah-Jones Talks to Jason Reynolds and Ibram X. Kendi About Their Book, “Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You”

2

On Process and Pain | A Conversation with Debut Authors Mary Cecilia Jackson & Sonja K. Solter

Eileen’s Mission: Moving Boys to Read Books

Jessica Kim Gets Funny and Talks Family in "Stand Up, Yumi Chung!"

Now in Color and with a Few Well-Chosen Words, Owly Returns

February’s YA Debut Authors on Love and Inspiration

Not Quite Banned: Soft Censorship That Makes LGBTQIA+ Stories Disappear

How Lesa Cline-Ransome and James Ransome Find Inspiration in the Little Things

Jason Reynolds Officially Becomes National Ambassador of Young People's Literature at Library of Congress Ceremony

Bank Street Announces Winner of Best Spanish Language Picture Book Award

1

What’s So Different Now? Everything. And Nothing. | Kate Messner on Writing & Reading in the Trump Era

Tonya Bolden: Capturing History’s Rhymes

Jason Reynolds Named National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature

1

On Being Comfortable with Discomfort: Tiffany Jewell Explains What It Means To Be Anti-Racist

January’s Debut YA Authors on Their New Year’s Resolutions

‘Innovation Playground’ Helps Librarians Spark Learning Through Play

David Bowles on Writing for Border Kids in the Age of Trump

1

"Reverie" Author Started Writing His YA Debut in High School

America Was Great Even Before America: How Eldon Yellowhorn Is Reclaiming Indigenous History

“Frindle” Author Remembered | News Bites

NCTE Names 2020 Charlotte Huck and Orbis Pictus Award Winners

The Power of Story—Diverse Books for All Readers

"But Where Are You Really From?" Julissa Arce On Writing for and About Latinx Youth in the Trump Era

Devotion to Diversity in Children’s Book Publishing

Samira Ahmed Challenges Librarians: “Use Your Power” | Writing and Reading in the Trump Era

1

In Search of Enthusiastic Young Bibliophiles

"Holding History in My Hands" | Authors, Illustrators, and Artifacts

The Power of Story–Powerful Magic

Youth, Interrupted: Author Deborah Ellis and Youth First President & CEO Liz Ryan in Conversation

Little Women, Frozen 2, and Clifford | Read-Alikes for Big Films Coming to Theaters and Netflix

The Power of Story—Scary Stories for the Rest of Us

Hena Khan's More to the Story is a Love Letter to Little Women

Debut YA Author Crafts a Fantasy Western That Empowers Readers

“This Makes Me Proud To Be a Librarian” | Most Popular Posts on SLJ

Three Literary Fiction and Poetry Authors Turn to YA

articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?