Related

ALL RELATED COVERAGE

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors

Reimagining Our Futures: YA Authors On Feminism, Fairy-Tales, & Fantasy

Walk the Jagged Streets of Gentrification with Ibi Zoboi’s "Pride"

Collecting Comics: September 2018 edition

Getting Real with Janelle Milanes About “Analee, in Real Life”

New and Forthcoming YA and MG Titles To Know

Latinx Authors & Illustrators Launch “Las Musas”

Friday Finds: September 14, 2018

20 Nonfiction and Poetry Titles That Celebrate Latinx Heritage

SLJ's Reviews of the 2018 National Book Award Longlisters

Helping Teens Prepare for College? Don’t Forget To Talk About Sexual Violence

Stories of Syrian Refugees: Don Brown’s "The Unwanted" | Interview

Finding Empathy Through Games

Watch: School Librarians Janet Damon and Julia Torres Talk "The Hate U Give" | Banned Books Week 2018

Teens and Social Media Survey Says: It's Complicated

Watch: Banned Books Week 2018, UK Teen Edition

Nova Ren Suma On Ghosts, Unreliable Narrators, & "A Room Away from the Wolves"

12 YA Titles To Give You Thrills & Chills

American Opioid Crisis in YA Lit

Watch: School Librarians K.C. Boyd & Matthew Winner on Banned Books Week

Courtney Summers On True Crime, Podcasts, and “Sadie”

YA Literature Too Dark! Why Don’t We Ask the Teens?

PREMIUM

Blanca & Roja

A magical and lovely first purchase for all YA shelves.
PREMIUM

The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy

An incredible, must-have follow-up full of old characters and new, blood and guts, and a delightful barrage of sarcasm.
PREMIUM

The Red Ribbon

An additional purchase for most young adult collections.
PREMIUM

Girls on the Line

Recommended purchase, especially for YA collections serving older teens or new adults.
PREMIUM

Uncharted

A must-have where fantastical thrillers are popular.
PREMIUM

The Middle-Route Run

A must for fans of the previous entry.
PREMIUM

My Real Name Is Hanna

A strong choice for young adult shelves.
PREMIUM

The Beast of Kukuyo

A good choice for YA thriller/mystery collections.
PREMIUM

Star Wars Lost Stars: Vol. 1

Perfect for reluctant readers and anyone who enjoys the "Star Wars" franchise.
PREMIUM

Latchkey

Teens who enjoy reading extended fight scenes and want immersion in an extraordinary world will enjoy Kornher-Stace’s second act. A strong choice for speculative fiction shelves.
PREMIUM

All the Stars Denied

An intense and enlightening historical fiction title that’s highly recommended for all libraries.
PREMIUM

What If It's Us

A must-purchase. Part feel-good, part star-crossed, this seamless blend of the authors' styles will appeal to fans old and new alike.
PREMIUM

Impostors

A fun-filled, action-adventure, science fiction story that can either be a great introduction to the "Uglies" universe, or a welcoming return. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

The Navigator's Touch

This companion novel elevates the captivating stories of mermaid Ersel and warrior-captain Ragna introduced in Seafarer's Kiss. Fans of mythology adventures will embrace this high-action, emotional, and gory tale.
PREMIUM

People Kill People

Sure to be a divisive novel, both for its storytelling and themes, this offering spotlights critical social issues but misses the mark on its delivery.
PREMIUM

Dear Evan Hansen

An unpredictable and endearing take on some classic themes, this novel will especially appeal to fans of the show but will also be easily accessible to new audiences.
PREMIUM

The Spy with the Red Balloon

A fast-moving read sure to delight those who enjoy historical fiction. Purchase where the first entry is popular, as well as where there are fans of books set during this period by Markus Zusak and Elizabeth Wein.
PREMIUM

The Kaleidoscope Sisters

A unique story for teens who enjoy fantasy and tragedy. Give this to fans of The Book Thief by Markus Zusak or If I Stay by Gayle Forman
PREMIUM

The Leading Edge of Now

An additional purchase where beach reads with weighty emotional themes and a touch of melodrama are popular.
PREMIUM

Ignite the Stars

A strong first book in a sure-to-be successful science fiction series.
PREMIUM

Muse of Nightmares

Purchase where Taylor has a loyal following and where the previous title is popular.
PREMIUM

A Winter's Promise

A worthwhile purchase for all fantasy collections.
PREMIUM

Strange Grace

Purchase where dark fantasy is in demand.
PREMIUM

Unbroken: 13 Stories Starring Disabled Teens

A great choice for all YA collections.
PREMIUM

Wildcard

A necessary purchase for libraries that have Warcross; those where science fiction circulates well, should pick up both volumes in this duology.
PREMIUM

A Blade So Black

This is a must-purchase where refreshing urban fantasies and retellings are in demand.
PREMIUM

Buried Beneath the Baobab Tree

A strong selection for libraries serving teens, especially those looking for book club picks.
PREMIUM

A Very Large Expanse of Sea

A must-have for all library collections.
PREMIUM

Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba; Vol. 1

This is a strong addition to manga collections, particularly as Volume 2 will be released shortly in the United States. For fans of "Fullmetal Alchemist" and "Hellsing."
PREMIUM

To Be Honest

A first purchase for libraries serving adolescents.
PREMIUM

Where She Fell

A solid purchase for middle and high school libraries where survival fiction is in demand.
PREMIUM

Come November

With an engaging plot premise, a strong, flawed heroine and a touch of romance, this book will fly off the shelf.
PREMIUM

Part of Your World: A Twisted Tale

Purchase where retellings and mermaid fantasies are popular.
PREMIUM

Spill Zone: The Broken Vow

Between Westerfeld's masterly storytelling and Puvilland's impeccable art, this is a must-read for Spill Zone fans.
PREMIUM

Pulp

A sweeping, engrossing drama full of important moments. Recommended for all library collections.
PREMIUM

Dodger Boy

A unique piece of historical fiction that packs a punch. Purchase where historical fiction circulates well, as well as where there is an interest in Canada.
PREMIUM

Just Wreck It All

A heartfelt journey through the importance of self-love and forgiveness, perfect for fans of Sara Zarr and Gayle Forman.

Five Ideas for the Teen Makerspace: DIY Games Edition

Chessy Prout on Consent, Rape Culture, and #IHaveTheRightTo

Post-it Note Reviews of Elementary and Middle Grade Books

Baker & Taylor's Children's and Teen Services- The CATS Difference

Ngozi Ukazu On Hockey, Queer Romance, and Her New Graphic Novel

A Love Letter for "To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before"

Filtering, What Is It Good For?

We Need to Talk About LGBTQ Book Displays

PREMIUM

Making a World of Difference: 19 Nonfiction Titles On Climate Change

Joy, Self-Expression, and Celebration at Camp Drag

Our Prebinds are Baker Bound and Taylor Tough- FollettBound℠ Built to Last

Launching a Library Health and Wellness Program

YA Online “Serial Anthology” Crowdfunding Campaign Launches

PREMIUM

DeadEndia: The Watcher's Test

Hand this excellent work to readers eagerly awaiting the next installments of "Lumberjanes" and "The Backstagers."
PREMIUM

Me and Me

A highly addictive page-turner that will keep readers guessing until the very end. A strong choice for high school libraries.
PREMIUM

A Room Away from the Wolves

With much to mull over and discuss, this is a taut and nuanced coming-of-age tale perfect for fans of E. Lockhart's We Were Liars and Meg Wolitzer's Belzhar .
PREMIUM

Sadie

It's impossible to not be drawn into this haunting thriller of a book. A heartrending must-have.
PREMIUM

Not Even Bones

Recommended for budding horror fans.
PREMIUM

Phantom Wheel

A general purchase, recommend this tech-savvy heist thriller to fans of Ally Carter and Anthony Horowitz.
PREMIUM

The Agony House

The format of this ghost story is inviting and while never truly horrifying, younger YA readers will be satisfied with the chills provided.
PREMIUM

Easy Prey

A relevant book and first selection for any public and high school library.
PREMIUM

An Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason

A fast-paced historical mystery rich in period detail that also explores gender and sexuality. A great buy for any library.
PREMIUM

The Leaving Year

This indie delight will charm readers with its story about family and self-discovery.
PREMIUM

Home and Away

Fans of Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon will enjoy this gripping story of the love, family, and forgiveness.
PREMIUM

Odd One Out

An important and necessary love story for YA that will fill a gap in collections.
PREMIUM

I, Claudia

A must-read for YA fans of political thrillers or school-based stories.
PREMIUM

Beneath the Citadel

Soria's stand-alone fantasy novel will resonate with fans of Mackenzi Lee's The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue and Veronica Roth's "Divergent" series.
PREMIUM

See All the Stars

A coming-of-age novel that hits all the stops—drama, friendships, and first love—and would be an excellent choice for YA shelves.
PREMIUM

Rabbit & Robot

Purchase where Smith has a following. Others may find this story inaccessible.
PREMIUM

Unclaimed Baggage

A great choice for fans of Morgan Matson's Since You've Been Gone.
PREMIUM

Runaways: Vol. 1; Find Your Way Home

Give this to young people looking to read teen-centric comics with complex characters and lots of heart. A must-have.
PREMIUM

#MurderTrending

A gory thriller that moves at breakneck speed, this book will be hard to put down for older teens with a penchant for horror.
PREMIUM

West

A wait of longer than a decade proves completely worthwhile in the case of Pattou's continuing spin on Norwegian myth filled with fully realized human characters and adventures both fantastic and emotionally authentic.
PREMIUM

Dream Country

An excellent choice for both public and school libraries.
PREMIUM

Sawkill Girls

Rich and earthy horror for readers who wanted Laura Ruby's Bone Gap to be a little scarier make this an essential purchase.
PREMIUM

The Seven Torments of Amy and Craig: A Love Story

Full of humor and heart, this refreshingly unromantic romance is highly recommended for most collections.
PREMIUM

Broken Things

Recommended for mature teens interested in reading about the everyday monsters they may encounter without ever knowing it. A must-have.
PREMIUM

And the Ocean Was Our Sky

An excellent, stirring counterpoint to the original text, rife with questions about the inexorable nature of belief and violence.
PREMIUM

Check, Please!: #Hockey

Although casual profanity, a few crass jokes, and some alcohol use make this a comic best suited for mature teens, this endearing volume is a must-have for YA graphic novel collections. Sure to resonate with hockey fans and sports newbies alike.
PREMIUM

Lost Soul, Be at Peace

Thrash boldly mixes memoir and fiction for a perceptive exploration of her past that will resonate profoundly with readers of Honor Girl, Laurie Halse Anderson and Emily Carroll's Speak: The Graphic Novel, and Katie Green's Lighter Than My Shadow.
PREMIUM

Seafire

A strong purchase for YA fantasy shelves.
PREMIUM

Summer Bird Blue

A beautiful, complex, and heartrending tale that belongs in all libraries.
articles

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.