BOOKS
Waiting for Fitz
240p. Shadow Mountain. Mar. 2019. Tr $17.99. ISBN 9781629725277.
COPY ISBN
Gr 8 Up—Midway through her senior year, 17-year-old Addie Foster is sent for in-patient psychiatric therapy for obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD) at Seattle Regional Hospital. Quick-witted and literary-minded, she dreams of being a playwright. Making some unlikely but unique friends from the first day of group therapy, Addie accepts that she needs help, while handsome, mysterious Fitz is desperate to leave after two years of treatment. Grieving and guilt ridden, Fitz, who has schizophrenia, mentions San Juan Island and the name Quentin but does not offer any details to Addie. Innocent romance sparks for the two, their shared passion for literature kindling their companionship. When the truth of Fitz's past is revealed to Addie, she is forced to take a painful look at their relationship and her own future. The ending is hopeful, albeit a touch predictable. Hyde, having spent much of his high school years in in-patient therapy for severe OCD, provides an accurate, honest rendering of teenage mental illness.
VERDICT Fans of John Green and Jennifer Niven will enjoy this realistic portrayal of some heavy subject matter.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.