FICTION

Unpregnant

HarperTeen. Sept. 2019. 320p. Tr $17.99. ISBN 9780062876249.
COPY ISBN
Gr 9 Up–Hendricks and Caplan’s debut novel tells the story of Veronica ‘Ronnie’ Clark, who lives a perfect life. It’s her senior year and as her school’s valedictorian, she’s already been accepted to Brown University. She looks perfect and has the perfect relationship with the perfect boyfriend, and a trio of perfect best friends. But when the story opens, she is sitting on the toilet, in the girls’ bathroom, staring at a postive pregnancy test. This is not how the last few months of school was meant to go, and she can’t share this bit of imperfection with anyone. Except maybe her ex-best friend Bailey Butler, who happens to find out Ronnie’s new secret. After asking for Bailey’s help, Ronnie embarks on a hilarious road trip from her small town in Missouri to Albuquerque, NM to get an abortion. Though Ronnie knows this trip will ultimately change her life, she is unaware of just how much. The book does a good job of tackling serious topics like teenage pregnancy, abortion, peer pressure, and friendship with light wit and sarcasm that does not feel clichéd. Through the journey, Ronnie comes to realize what it means to be a true friend, despite her own ego, and readers will feel a kinship with both her and Bailey.
VERDICT A story that effortlessly delivers difficult topics through humor and adventure, without taking away from their serious nature. It is a must read for fans of Gaby Rodriguez’s The Pregnancy Project and Diablo Cody’s movie Juno

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.