FICTION

Truth in Sight

illus. by Cori Doerrfeld & Tyler Page. 48p. (Cici: A Fairy's Tale: Bk. 2). Graphic Universe. Aug. 2016. lib. ed. $26.65. ISBN 9781467761536; pap. $7.99. ISBN 9781512411560. POP
COPY ISBN
Gr 2–5—Cici is adjusting to her parents' divorce and her newly acquired fairy magic. She spends her weekends at her dad's house with her younger sister, Sofia, who cries the entire time, and her days at school lonely after having a falling out with her best friend. Cici gets to know Kendra, the daughter of the man her mother is seeing. Resentful because she believes that Kendra's life is perfect, Cici plays a mean trick on the other girl, distorting the features on Kendra's beloved doll. This alters Kendra's appearance in a way that only Cici and other fairies can see, which leads the protagonist to believe that it isn't causing any lasting harm. When Cici's grandmother discovers the magical misdeeds, she uses the moment to teach the girl an important lesson about her magic. The themes of divorce, friendship, and the implications of magic will resonate with kids. Spanish language is peppered throughout the text, and the vibrant cartoon illustrations give readers insight into the characters' inner lives.
VERDICT Fans of Ashley Spires's "Binky" books and Victoria Jamieson's new series "Pets on the Loose!" will be ready to tackle this next. A wonderful addition to a must-have series.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.