FICTION

The Upside of Falling

HarperTeen. Feb. 2020. 288p. Tr $17.99. ISBN 9780062918055.
COPY ISBN
Gr 9 Up–When studious Becca is taunted by her frenemy for not dating, she pretends to have a boyfriend. Determined to earn a spot playing college football, gorgeous Brett has ignored the dating scene, much to the dismay of his father. Overhearing Becca’s lie, he jumps at the chance to be her fake boyfriend. Despite not knowing very much about each other, the two small-town Georgia teens realize they have more in common than they thought as they share ice cream and pastries and spend long hours in the arcade. Becca discovers she loves football much more than she could have imagined, while Brett finds literature increasingly more interesting under Becca’s tutelage. Although the plot is somewhat predictable, readers will likely find many moments endearing as Becca and Brett develop a friendship that leads to true romance.
VERDICT An additional purchase for fans of Jenny Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and Kasie West’s The Fill-In Boyfriend.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?