FICTION

Splintered

Holiday House. May 2019. 368p. Tr $18.99. ISBN 9780823440900.
COPY ISBN
Gr 9 Up–In this follow-up to his YA debut, Spliced, McGoran finds his rhythm in an exciting, futuristic thriller. Just as 16-year-old heroine Jimi Corcoran has settled back into normalcy, her world is shaken by several events. First, her boyfriend Rex—one of the many younger members of society who has decided to splice his DNA with the genes of animals in order to acquire qualities like fur, cat eyes, or feathers—has returned from places unknown. Second, a cultural and political war between the spliced subculture of “chimeras” and a powerful anti-chimera group is once again heating up. When Doc Guzman tries to help one of these hybrid humans and is jailed, the action takes Jimi and her chimera friends out of their battle-scarred, futuristic Philadelphia and into the postapocalyptic suburbs. There, she finds a hospital with a terrible secret and herself on another mission to save hundreds of chimeras. While the love scenes feel a little forced, this book is full of enough action-packed thrills and suspense to more than make up for it. The social commentary is a bit heavy-handed at times, but it will leave young readers with a lot to ponder about hate groups and their adversaries.
VERDICT A sci-fi page-turner for readers who enjoy Cinder and Divergent.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.