FICTION

Rise

Little, Brown. (Rule: Bk. 2). Jun. 2019. 352p. Tr $17.99. ISBN 9780316515351.
COPY ISBN
Gr 9 Up–This dark fantasy comes to a conclusion in this sequel to Rule. Sisters Akeylah, Ren, and Zofi are forced to share their secrets with one another, trusting that they will be able to work together to survive the threats made by the blackmailer calling themselves the “true heir.” As their father nears death, exiled Zofi searches for a way to reverse the curse that is killing him, and Akeylah learns that Queen Rozalind, now her lover, has a secret that not only could change the succession but also makes Rozalind a prime suspect as the blackmailer. While all three sisters are forced to take a hard look at themselves and take responsibility for their actions, Akeylah’s character development truly shines in this story as she feeds the strength that has always been there, even when she was abused and neglected before the sisters were revealed as heirs to the crown. The explicit violence and sexual implications in this compelling series make it a better fit for more mature teens.
VERDICT Fans of Kendare Blake’s “Three Dark Crowns” books and Morgan Rhodes’s “Falling Kingdoms” series will enjoy this duology, as will readers who are looking for dark fantasy without lengthy and ongoing installments.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.