DVDS

Princesses Wear Pants

9 min. Dreamscape. 2017. $38.99. ISBN 9781520087122.
COPY ISBN
PreS-Gr 3—In this lively video about a not-so-average Princess, fun, funky animated illustrations make the vibrant world of Princess Penelope Pineapple come alive. Penelope is very much a princess, surrounded by frills and beautiful gowns. She loves ruffles, for sure, but she loves pants, too, because she has things to do, of course! Penelope exercises, gardens, encourages work in science, and gets dirty along the way, and her pants help her get these important duties done. Not everyone agrees Penny should be wearing pants, but when an emergency presents itself, she proves sometimes you just have to get work done. Coauthor Savannah Guthrie's strong narration adds humor and emotion at just the right moments, expressing the story's clever rhymes perfectly. A catchy tune accompanies the voice-over, well suited to the scanned pink-tinted illustrations by Eva Byrne. A perfect choice for fans of "Fancy Nancy" and Jane Yolen's Not All Princesses Dress in Pink.
VERDICT A fun addition to animated storybook collections and an especially good choice for fans of princesses.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.