GRAPHIC NOVELS

Primer

DC Comics. Jun. 2020. 160p. pap. $9.99. ISBN 9781401296575.
COPY ISBN
Gr 4-8–Thirteen-year-old Ashley hasn’t had an easy time in the foster system, taking her feelings out on the world through pranks and graffiti. But it seems like she might be fitting right in with her new foster family, the quirky Nolans: Kitch, an artist and professor, and Yuka, a scientist at Zecromax Labs. Just as things settle down at home and school, Yuka brings home a mysterious briefcase, which Ashley filches, full of body paints that give her superpowers. As Ashley hits the streets to fight crime and save lives, she catches the attention of supersoldier Cal Strack, who wants her abilities for his own ambitious purposes. Can Ashley fight crime and protect her new family, too? A fast-paced plot, memorable characters, and a healthy dash of classic comic book convolution make this a satisfying read for hero connoisseurs. Lusky’s vibrant, expressive artwork perfectly conveys the dynamic action. While this adventure wraps up by the end of the volume, lingering opportunities and threats indicate more to come.
VERDICT For fans of Wonder Woman and She-Ra looking for a colorful fix.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to 6000+ annual reviews of books, databases, and more

As low as $12/month