ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?
FICTION

Petal’s Party

Scholastic. Jan. 2020. 1,282p. pap. $5.99. ISBN 9781338589139.
COPY ISBN
Gr 1-3–Petal is throwing her first “Lucky Bunny burrow party” and her five best friends are invited. Excitement escalates as the gang plans the games and treats. Conflict develops as Ruby gets mad at Twinkle for being bossy, and the two friends stop speaking to each other. The other bunnies are devastated; the party won’t be as much fun without their pals! Will Ruby and Twinkle work out their differences before the big day? No familiarity with the first book is required to enjoy this series sequel. Perfect for fans of “Owl Diaries,” Coe’s book whisks readers into a saccharine society of colorful bunnies whose town includes a Luck Rainbow, a magical Clover Train, and a Weather Rabbit to control the weather. This gently magical adventure is reminiscent of the world of Strawberry Shortcake, and bunny puns abound as the sweet friends plan their “Furbulous” homespun gala. At first glance, this series seems aimed at very early chapter readers, but actually it is better suited for those ready to transition to longer fiction. Although it is illustrated, every page does not include a picture. The chapters are a bit longer than most early chapter books and the reading level a bit higher. Only being published in paperback, the series seems to be aimed more at a book order audience than a library.
VERDICT Though the story lacks substance, this is nevertheless a great choice to lure reluctant readers into something a bit more challenging.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED