FICTION

Oh, Bear

Cameron + Company/Cameron Kids. Mar. 2019. 32p. Tr $16.95. ISBN 9781944903596.
COPY ISBN
PreS-Gr 1–For his birthday, Bear receives a bright yellow kite. Bear plays with his wonderful gift, running through meadows, along the sea, and into the forest until it is caught in a tree and torn. At first, Bear is sad to have lost his gift but when it is repurposed by a bright yellow bird he realizes that he has gained something even more valuable. Whimsical illustrations give the book a quiet and magical ambiance. Bear pulls his kite along the seashore with a party hat perched jauntily on his head. The kite string accumulates detritus during the journey, ultimately festooning his forest home with clams, twigs, flowers, and pinecones.
VERDICT   A gorgeous picture book that imparts its message of kindness and renewal with precise words and delicate illustrations. Perfect for fans of Michelle Cuevas’s The Uncorker of Ocean Bottles or Julie Fogliano’s If You Want to See a Whale

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.