FICTION
Me Myself & Him
Delacorte. Jul. 2019. 304p. Tr $17.99. ISBN 9781524715229.
COPY ISBN
Gr 10 Up–After high school senior Chris Schweitzer passes out from doing whippets behind the restaurant where he works, his parents and employer find out about his illicit activities. Chris ends up losing his job and is sent to California to live with his emotionally distant and authoritarian father the last summer before college. Things aren’t quite as dire as they seem, though, because in this reality Chris meets his first love, the handsome and mysterious Swift. In a different reality Chris isn’t caught—he spends his last summer with his friends in his small Ohio town. What at first seemed like a better ending to the ill-fated night becomes a rot that pollutes Chris’s entire summer. The secrets and lies hover over him, a constant reminder that he is one slipup away from being exposed, and the quality time he planned on spending with friends ends up not being what he expected. Chris finds himself a very lonely third wheel when his two best friends start dating. This is an engaging story that examines love, relationships, and the different paths one’s life can take.
VERDICT For fans of Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli’s What if It’s Us, Bill Konigsberg’s The Music of What Happens, and Robyn Schneider’s The Beginning of Everything

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.