FICTION

Kooky Crumbs: Poems in Praise of Dizzy Days

illus. by Mary Uhles. 32p. Kane Miller. 2016. Tr $12.99. ISBN 9781610673716.
COPY ISBN
Gr 1–5—In a follow-up to World Rat Day, former Children's Poet Laureate Lewis has written 29 more poems about unusual holidays, including National Sunshine Day, World UFO Day, and World Toilet Day. Each holiday receives its own special font and accompanying illustration. The holidays are presented without dates and out of chronological order, providing an opportunity for readers to do their own research. Likewise, the poetic forms are not identified, but this won't keep readers from enjoying the poems. The illustrations are vibrant and humorous, featuring children, animals, and aliens in laugh-out-loud situations. Fans of Jack Prelutsky and Bruce Lansky will probably already be familiar with Lewis's work, but new readers will be delighted to discover he's written over 70 other books for children.
VERDICT This cheerful, accessible collection of poems would be useful as a mentor text in guided instruction for elementary students or as pleasure reading.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 6000+ annual reviews of books, databases, and more

As low as $12/month