GRAPHIC NOVELS

Kitty Quest

Razorbill. Jun. 2021. 208p. Tr $20.99. ISBN 9780593205440; pap. $11.99. ISBN 9780593205464.
COPY ISBN
Gr 2-5–Business is slow for Woolfrik and Perigold, anthropomorphic cats who hunt monsters in the mostly monsterless town of Meowminster, part of the Islands of Pawdor. But that changes when a customer pays the pair with a strange jewel, which falls into the town’s slime pond. A tower magically sprouts, and a ghost named Earl Mortimore appears and tells them about the Guild of Kitquaroo, a group of wizards and warriors who safeguarded Pawdor many years ago. Because the guild was so successful, its home base, the Tower of Kitquaroo, was sealed into a jewel, along with Earl, to be unleashed if help was ever needed in the future. With the opportunity to fight evil, Woolfrik and Perigold relaunch the Guild of Kitquaroo, now known as Kitty Quest, and requests for help start pouring in—there will surely be future series installments. The book’s cover is sure to entice graphic novel fans, and the funny, fast-paced tale within will not disappoint. The humor, bold colors, and easy-to-follow panels will delight readers. Younger readers may be challenged by some of the vocabulary, but the illustrations adeptly add context; likewise, there’s plenty that will appeal to those on the older age of the range.
VERDICT Fans of Dav Pilkey and Lincoln Peirce’s “Max and the Midknights” will clamor for this series starter.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?