FICTION

Ghostly Echoes

352p. (Jackaby: Bk. 3). ebook available. Algonquin. Aug. 2016. Tr $17.95. ISBN 9781616205799.
COPY ISBN
Gr 7 Up—Paranormal detective duo Abigail Rook and R.F. Jackaby are back again, this time with a more serious focus—to unearth the killer of their ghostly landlord, Jenny, and find out what actually became of her missing fiancé, Howard. As the unlikely pair begin to uncover more evidence about the murder, they realize that the circumstances around Jenny's death 10 years ago are still very much relevant to the present. Implicating the mayor and other well-known scientists, Rook and Jackaby's discoveries show that Jenny's death is a small cog in the wheel of a nefarious plan, one involving the Dire Council, which is intent on harnessing magical powers. Decidedly more serious than the previous installment, Beastly Bones, this novel features a fairly somber Jackaby and increasingly mature Rook. Many questions are still unanswered at the end (Is Jackaby still up for this line of work? Will he and Rook stop the malevolent Dire Council before its evil plan comes to fruition?), thus opening up the possibility of another book in the series.
VERDICT Recommended for fans of Jonathan Stroud's The Screaming Staircase and Jonathan Auxier's The Night Gardener.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?