FICTION

Flash, the Little Fire Engine

Two Lions/Amazon/. Nov. 2019. 40p. Tr $17.99. ISBN 9781542041782.
COPY ISBN
PreS-Gr 1–New to the job, fire engine Flash might just be the smallest rescue vehicle in town, but he’s also one of the most ambitious. Every time the alarm sounds at the fire station, Flash is eager to get to the scene, but by the time he arrives, the fire is always too big or too tall. Other times, Flash just can’t get there fast enough. When there’s a fire at the local animal shelter, Flash finally gets to prove himself. The variety of vehicles and story line make this book a great choice for preschoolers. Children will enjoy guessing where Flash is headed next, pointing out each type of vehicle, and discussing how the little engine feels. Rendered in digital media, the illustrations don’t bring anything new to the table, but they use perspective to effectively convey tone and emotion. As the other vehicles complete their rescues, Flash sits off to the side. Each time he sets out for a new location, his determined face and sound effects have a full page. Fans of Kate McMullan and Stephen Savage will love Flash.
VERDICT A story about never giving up, Calvert’s latest is well-suited for large picture book collections.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.