MEDIA
Divided
(Dualed: Bk. 2). 8 CDs. 10:45 hrs. Listening Library. 2014. $50. ISBN 9780804121507. digital download.
COPY ISBN
Gr 8 Up—Narrator Alicyn Packard returns to voice the latest riveting installment in West Grayer's story. After the harrowing events leading up to the death of her doppelganger (or Alt), West is now a Complete and is moving forward with her life: preparing to live with her boyfriend, Chord, and training inactives to murder their Alts when they receive their assignments. As a former Striker, West's skills and determination have not gone unnoticed by The Board. She is approached by one Board member, Sabian, and promised an affluent future in exchange for one last Striker mission. She reluctantly chooses to go forth with the mission, uncovering secrets the Board want buried. Familiarity with the previous title is not essential as Divided offers enough background information to make it stand alone. The momentum slows at points when West overthinks, but the action is on point. A cliff-hanger hints to another installment. This is a great addition to collections looking for more dystopian novels. Fans of Veronica Roth's "Divergent" series or Ally Condie's "Matched" trilogy will enjoy Divided.—Amanda Schiavulli, Finger Lakes Library System, NY

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.