FICTION

Cloud Hopper

Penelope. Sept. 2020. 332p. Tr $17.99. ISBN 9781734225907.
COPY ISBN
Gr 7 Up–A beautifully-written historical science fiction story that embodies human nature. Through unique character voices and detailed imagery, Kephart creates a novel about three misfits who witness the tragic accident of a cloud hopper (a person with a jet pack that can hop through the clouds) that changes their lives forever. Each of their stories unfolds through the voice of the main character, Sophie, who interweaves their history with the present. Readers learn about her namesake, a famous hopper, through stories told by her grandma, who lives with multiple-sclerosis. They also learn about how Vietnam veterans took over an abandoned airport to fly families in hot air balloons, and a how a family’s love is unending (even if it isn’t blood-related). Kephart’s compelling read highlights the innate nature of the human race to do what is right even when everything feels like it is fighting against you.
VERDICT Fans of Elizabeth Wein’s Code Name Verity and Walter Dean Myers’s We Were Heroes will love this book.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?