ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?
FICTION

Blood Heir

Delacorte. (Blood Heir: Bk. 1). Nov. 2019. 464p. Tr $18.99. ISBN 9780525707790.
COPY ISBN
Gr 9 Up–Ana has the power to control blood. She is an Affinite, someone who possesses the power to control natural elements; but Affinites are considered dangerous and are enslaved. Ana is notoriously called “The Blood Witch” and is unjustly accused of a crime that she did not commit. With the help of career criminal Quicktongue, Ana sets out to seek revenge and clear her name. But can she trust Quicktongue, or does he have an ulterior motive? This book is highly recommended for readers who loved Tomi Adeyemi’s Children of Blood and Bone. Zhao is a master writer who weaves a powerful tale of loyalty, honor, and courage through a strong female protagonist. This novel can also be used to help start the conversation about human trafficking and its effects on society, both historically and currently.
VERDICT Readers will love the fast-paced energy and plot twists in this adventure-packed story.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED