FICTION

Babysitting Nightmares: The Twilight Curse

Imprint. (Babysitting Nightmares: Bk. 3). Aug. 2019. 224p. Tr $14.99. ISBN 9781250157010.
COPY ISBN
Gr 5-8–The latest installment in the series is a haunting mystery for middle grade readers. When Clio’s aunt buys an abandoned theater in town, Maggie develops a special interest in acting. To spend more time at the old theater, Maggie takes a job babysitting the lead actress’s daughter. As the theater prepares for the opening of its first performance of Macbeth, strange and inexplicable things start happening. Clio, Maggie, and the rest of their friends must assemble the clues and use what they know about the supernatural to stop things from getting out of control on opening night. Thrill-seeking readers will appreciate the well-constructed mysteries. Fans familiar with the series will most enjoy this third entry, as there are various references to earlier titles and the ending is also linked to the other installments.
VERDICT A pleasantly spooky supernatural mystery. Fans of Mimi McCoy’s “Poison Apple” series or Trenton Lee Stewart’s “The Mysterious Benedict Society” will gravitate toward this selection.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.