FICTION

Agatha Parrot and the Thirteenth Chicken

illus. by Wes Hargis. 160p. Clarion. Jun. 2017. Tr $16.99. ISBN 9780544509092.
COPY ISBN
Gr 1–3β€”In this latest zany adventure in the UK-imported "Agatha Parrot" series, Agatha and her friends are taking care of the school's newly hatched chicks overnight. Four friends and 13 chicks mean that they all take home three and one gets the bonus chick, named Random. After school, the girls meet up for a chick soccer match and realize that one of the chicks is missing. High jinks ensue as the girls try to figure out who lost Random and work to find him before the big chicken assembly at school the next day. The fast-paced, high-energy story is enhanced by black-and-white cartoonlike illustrations.
VERDICT A hit for fans of Sara Pennypacker's "Clementine" and Annie Barrows's "Ivy and Bean" books.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to 6000+ annual reviews of books, databases, and more

As low as $12/month