"Game of Thrones" Readalikes | Most Popular Stories on SLJ

Love it or hate it—or perhaps that's a little of both now for even the most ardent fans of Game of Thrones—we'bid adieu to the HBO series on Sunday. Our GoT readalikes, a report on summer reading trends, recommended podcasts, and those YA BookTubers are among our most popular posts of the week.

Love it or hate it—or perhaps that's a little of both now for even the most ardent fans of Game of Thrones—we bid adieu to the HBO series on Sunday, May 19, when it concludes its run in the highly anticipated finale. 
The most watched show in the world has boosted interest in fantasy titles. Our GoT readalikes is among School Library Journal's most popular posts of the week.   

 

1. Scholastic Report Reveals Summer Reading Trends
More kids are reading less over the summer break, according to Scholastic's Kids and Family Reading Report: 7th Edition.

2. NYPL Names a New Director
Brian Bannon—the current head of the Chicago Public Library—will be the first Merryl and James Tisch Director of the New York Public Library, overseeing 88 neighborhood branches while charged with developing and growing the education strategy and programs of the country's largest public library system.

3. 8 YA BookTubers To Watch Right Now
YouTube is the most popular social media for teenagers. BookTube has been growing for a number of years, and for those who aren’t already tapped into the world of book lovers who share their insights and passions on the video site, it can be challenging to figure out where to begin.

4. YA and Middle Grade Reads for Game of Thrones Fans
These 18 titles are perfect for Game of Thrones fans mourning the end of the HBO series—or for young readers who aren't quite ready for Westeros.

5. A Universe of Podcasts: A Summer Listening Guide for Elementary, Middle, and High School Students
New research offers compelling evidence that suggests we should make more use of podcasts, while a podcast search engine makes it easy. Here are three curated lists that dovetail with this year's summer reading theme. 

6. Tech Leaders: STEM & STEAM Dreamers
With projects ranging from aquaponics to breakerspaces, these innovators maximize tech's creative potential. It starts in the library.

7. Naomi Shihab Nye Named Young People's Poet Laureate
The Palestinian-American writer becomes the first Arab-American to earn the honor.
 

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.