May 24, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

“After the Fall ” Wins Anna Dewdney Read Together Award

The 2018 Anna Dewdney Read Together Award—in partnership with Penguin Young Readers, the Children’s Book Council, and Every Child a Reader—was given to After the Fall (How Humpty Dumpty Got Back Up Again) by Dan Santat.

Only in its second year, the award is named after Anna Dewdney, the children’s author and illustrator of the “Llama, Llama” books series, who died in September 2016. It is given  to a picture book that is “both a superb read-aloud and also sparks compassion, empathy, and connection.”

After the Fall tells the story of Humpty Dumpty’s post-fall fear of heights and how he finds the courage to overcome it so he can return to doing many of the things he loves. Santat will receive $1,000 from the Children’s Book Council. Penguin will donate 250 copies of his winning title to the school, library, or literacy organization of his choice.

A seven-person committee selected After the Fall from a list of five finalists produced by a public nomination process. The 2018 Honor Books are: Be a Friend, written and illustrated by Salina Yoon; Bunny Slopes, written and illustrated by Claudia Rueda; Come With Me, by Holly M. McGhee; illustrated by Pascal Lemâitre; and Grandmother Thorn, by Katey Howes; illustrated by Rebecca Hahn.

Read the full press release:



New York, NY – May 2, 2018 – Penguin Young Readers, the Children’s Book Council, and Every Child a Reader are proud to announce that After the Fall (How Humpty Dumpty Got Back Up Again), by Dan Santat (Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group/Roaring Brook Press) is the winner of the Second Annual Anna Dewdney Read Together Award.

This award is given annually to a picture book that is both a superb read-aloud and also sparks compassion, empathy, and connection. The award commemorates the life and work of author/illustrator Anna Dewdney, and celebrates her commitment to reading with young children and putting books into as many little hands as possible.

A book launch and award event for Dan Santat at Vroman’s Bookstore in Pasadena, California at 10 AM on Saturday, May 5 is a cornerstone of events taking place across the U.S. from April 30 to May 6 at 800 schools, libraries and bookstores as part of the 99th annual Children’s Book Week.

Dan Santat is the Caldecott Medal-winning and New York Times-bestselling author and illustrator of The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend and the road trip/time travel adventure Are We There Yet? His artwork is also featured in numerous picture books, chapter books, and middle-grade novels, including Dav Pilkey’s Ricky Ricotta series. Dan lives in Southern California with his wife, two kids, and many, many pets. His newest picture book is Dude! by Aaron Reynolds.

Santat will be awarded a prize of $1,000 from the Children’s Book Council, and Penguin will purchase and donate 250 copies of After the Fall to a school, library, or literacy organization of his choice.

The winner was chosen by voting on a list of five finalists by: Berol Dewdney (Early Childhood Educator, Baltimore, MD; Earl Dizon (a bookseller at Green Bean Books, OR); Mia Wenjen (Pragmatic Mom blogger); Rocco Staino (contributing editor, School Library Journal); Rita Meade (2017 Anna Dewdney Award winner and Brooklyn Public librarian); Christine Pyles (Youth Services Manager, Euclid Public Library, OH); and Lisa Von Drasek (Curator, Kerlan Children’s Literature Research Collections, University of Minnesota).

The 2018 Honor Books, selected after a two-month-long nomination process open to the public are: Be a Friend, written and illustrated by Salina Yoon (Bloomsbury USA Children’s); Bunny Slopes, written and illustrated by Claudia Rueda (Chronicle Books); Come With Me, by Holly M. McGhee; illustrated by Pascal Lemâitre (Penguin / G.P. Putnam’s); and Grandmother Thorn, by Katey Howes; illustrated by Rebecca Hahn (Ripple Grove Press).

About Anna Dewdney
Anna Dewdney was the New York Times bestselling author and illustrator of Llama Llama Red Pajama. Other award-winning books in the Llama Llama series include Llama Lama and the Bully Goat, Llama Lama Time to Share, Llama Llama Misses Mama, Llama Llama Holiday Drama, and Llama Llama Mad at Mama. Llama Llama Loves to Read will release in May 2018. She was also the author/illustrator of Little Excavator, Nobunny’s Perfect, Roly Poly Pangolin, and Grumpy Gloria. Anna worked as a rural mail carrier and taught at a boys’ boarding school for many years before becoming a full-time author and illustrator. Anna was a committed advocate of literacy, speaking regularly on this topic and publishing articles in the Wall Street Journal and other national outlets.

About Penguin Young Readers
Penguin Young Readers is one of the leading children’s book publishers in the United States. The company owns a wide range of imprints and trademarks including Dial Books, Dutton, Grosset & Dunlap, Kathy Dawson Books, Nancy Paulsen Books, Penguin Workshop, Philomel, Puffin, G. P. Putnam’s Sons, Viking, Razorbill, Speak, and Frederick Warne. These imprints are home to such award-winning, New York Times- bestselling authors as, Laurie Halse Anderson, Judy Blume, Jan Brett, Eric Carle, Ally Condie, Roald Dahl, Tomie dePaola, Sarah Dessen, Anna Dewdney, John Flanagan, John Green, Oliver Jeffers, Marie Lu, Mike Lupica, Richelle Mead, Richard Peck, Ruta Sepetys, Jacqueline Woodson and dozens of other popular authors. Penguin Young Readers Group is also the proud publisher of perennial brand franchises such as the Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys series, Peter Rabbit, Spot, the Classic Winnie the Pooh, The Very Hungry Caterpillar, Madeline, Mad Libs, the Rangers Apprentice, Skippyjon Jones, Who Was?, and Flower Fairies among many others. Penguin Young Readers Group is a division of Penguin Group LLC, a Penguin Random House company.

About Every Child a Reader 

Every Child a Reader is a 501(c)(3) literacy charity dedicated to inspiring a lifelong love of reading in children and teens across America. Every Child a Reader’s major national programs include: Children’s Book Week, celebrating 99 years this April 30-May 6, 2018; the Children’s & Teen Choice Book Awards; Get Caught Reading ; and the National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature program, in partnership with the Library of Congress. The 2018-2019 National Ambassador is Jacqueline Woodson.

Extra Helping header

This article was featured in our free Extra Helping enewsletter.
Subscribe today to have more articles like this delivered to you twice a week.

Comment Policy:
  1. Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  2. Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  3. Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through (though some comments with links to multiple URLs are held for spam-check moderation by the system). If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.

We accept clean XHTML in comments, but don't overdo it and please limit the number of links submitted in your comment. For more info, see the full Terms of Use.

Speak Your Mind