April 20, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

Awards Roundup: The Cook Prize, Edgar Nominees, Sydney Taylor Award, and More

While ALA’s Youth Media Awards took the spotlight on Monday morning during the ALA Midwinter Meeting, several other children’s book awards were recently announced, including the Cook Prize for Best STEM picture book, the Sydney Taylor Book Award, the Edgars, and Notable Books for a Global Society. Below is a roundup of nominees and winning titles.

Cook Prize for Best STEM Picture Book

cookprizeThe Bank Street Center for Children’s Literature announced their Cook Prize finalists on January 16. The prize honors the best science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) picture book published for children aged eight to ten. Finalists were chosen by a panel of judges comprising of Bank Street School for Children and Graduate School faculty members and distinguished alumni, from a list of sixteen STEM books included in the Children’s Book Committee Best Books of the Year. Presented for the first time in 2012, it is the only national children’s choice award honoring a STEM book.


Behold the Beautiful Dung Beetle
by Cheryl Bardoe, illus. by Alan Marks (Charlesbridge)

Galápagos George
by Jean Craighead George, illus. by Wendell Minor (Harper)

Mr. Ferris and His Wheel
by Kathryn Gibbs Davis, illus. by Gilbert Ford (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Mysterious Patterns: Finding Fractals in Nature
by Sarah C. Campbell, photos by Sarah C. Campbell & Richard P. Campbell (Boyds Mills)


SidneyTaylorSydney Taylor Book Award

The winners of the 2015 Sydney Taylor Book Award were publicly announced on January 20. The Sydney Taylor Book Award honors new books for children and teens that exemplify the highest literary standards while authentically portraying the Jewish experience. The award memorializes Sydney Taylor, author of the classic “All-of-a-Kind Family” series. Jim Aylesworth and Barbara McClintock, author and illustrator of My Grandfather’s Coat, Loic Dauvillier, Marc Lizano and Greg Salsedo, authors and illustrator of Hidden: A Child’s Story of the Holocaust, and Donna Jo Napoli, author of Storm, are among this year’s award recipients.

Award Winner for Younger Readers: My Grandfather’s Coat by Jim Aylesworth with illustrations by Barbara McClintock (Scholastic)

Award Winner for Older Readers: Hidden: A Child’s Story of the Holocaust by Loic Dauvillier & Greg Salsedo with illustrations by Marc Lizano (First Second/Roaring Brook)

Award Winner for Teen Readers: Storm by Donna Jo Napoli (S. & S.)

SydneyHonorHonor Books for Younger Readers: 

Goldie Takes a Stand by Barbara Krasner with illustrations by Kelsey Garrity-Riley (Kar-Ben/Lerner)

Never Say a Mean Word Again by Jacqueline Jules with illustrations by Durga Yael Bernhard (Wisdom Tales)

Honor Books for Older Readers: 

Death by Toilet Paper by Donna Gephart (Delacorte)

The Whispering Town by Jennifer Elvgren, illustrated by Fabio Santomauro (Kar-Ben/Lerner)

Honor Books for Teen Readers:

Isabel’s War by Lila Perl (Lizzie Skurnick/IG Publishing)

Like No Other by Una LaMarche (Penguin)

In addition to the medal winners, the award committee designated sixteen Notable Books of Jewish Content for 2015. More information about the Sydney Taylor Book Award can be found at the Sydney Taylor Book Award website.


Charlotte Zolotow Award

sparkyThe Charlotte Zolotow Award is given by the University of Wisconsin-Madison’s Cooperative Children’s Book Center (CCBC), a noncirculating examination, study and research library housed within the School of Education. Established in 1998, the award honors the work of children’s book editor and author Charlotte Zolotow, and is given annually for outstanding writing in a picture book for children in the birth through 7 age range. This year, Jenny Offill won the award for Sparky! illustrated by Chris Appelhans (Schwartz & Wade).

The 2015 Zolotow Award committee named five Honor Books:

ZolotowHonorBeautiful Moon: A Child’s Prayer written by Tonya Bolden, illustrated by Eric Velasquez, edited by Howard Reeves (Abrams)

Chengdu Could Not, Would Not Fall Asleep written and illustrated by Barney Saltzberg, edited by Kevin Lewis (Disney-Hyperion)

Ivan: The Remarkable True Story of the Shopping Mall Gorilla written by Katherine Applegate, illustrated by G. Brian Karas, edited by Anne Hoppe (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Tap Tap Boom Boom written by Elizabeth Bluemle, illustrated by G. Brian Karas, edited by Joan Powers (Candlewick)

Water Rolls, Water Rises/El Agua Rueda, el Agua Sube written by Pat Mora, Spanish translation by Adriana Domínguez and Pat Mora, illustrated by Meilo So, edited by Louise May (Lee & Low)

Nine titles were also cited by the committee as Highly Commended. View the full list at the Zolotow Award website.

The Edgar Awards

The Mystery Writers of America have announced the nominees for the 2015 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, honoring the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction and television published or produced in 2014. Awards will be presented at the Edgars Banquet in New York City on April 29.

EdgarAwardsBest Juvenile:

Absolutely Truly by Heather Vogel Frederick (S, & S.)
Space Case by Stuart Gibbs (S. & S.)

Greenglass House by Kate Milford (Clarion/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Nick and Tesla’s Super-Cyborg Gadget Glove by “Science Bob” Pflugfelder and Steve Hockensmith  (Quirk Books)

Saving Kabul Corner by N.H. Senzai (S. & S.)
Eddie Red, Undercover: Mystery on Museum Mile by Marcia Wells (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

EdgarAwardsYAYoung Adult:

The Doubt Factory by Paolo Bacigalupi (Little, Brown)
Nearly Gone by Elle Cosimano (Penguin)
Fake ID by Lamar Giles (HarperCollins/Amistad)
The Art of Secrets by James Klise (Algonquin)
The Prince of Venice Beach by Blake Nelson (Little, Brown)


DashScott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction

The winner of the Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction was announced on January 28. Created in 1982, the annual award of $5,000 goes to an author for a meritorious book published in the previous year for children or young adults. Scott O’Dell established this award to encourage both authors and young readers to focus on historical fiction. This year’s winner is Dash by Kirby Larson (Scholastic).


Notable Books for a Global Society

GLobalThe list of Notable Books for a Global Society has been released for 2015. The Children’s Literature and Reading Special Interest Group of the International Reading Association formed the Notable Books for a Global Society (NBGS) Committee in 1995. Every year, the committee selects 25 outstanding trade books in all genres for students K-12 that promote understanding across lines of culture, race, sexual orientation, values, and ethnicity across the world. These twenty-five titles represent the year’s best in fiction, nonfiction and poetry. Winners include Cece Bell’s El Deafo (Abrams), Migrant (Abrams) by José Manuel Mateo, Caminar by Skila Brown (Candlewick(, and Tim Tingle’s House of Purple Cedar (Cinco Puntos).