February 25, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

‘Eleanor & Park’ Wins 2014 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award for Young Adult Fiction

Eleanor and ParkThe Assembly on Literature for Adolescents (ALAN) of the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) has announced that the 2014 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award Winner is Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell (St. Martin’s Griffin, 2013). Established in 2008 to honor the wishes of young adult author Amelia Elizabeth Walden, the award grants $5,000 to be presented annually to the author of a young adult title demonstrating a positive approach to life, widespread teen appeal, and literary merit.

Set in 1986, Eleanor & Park is the story of two decidedly mismatched teens, from drastically different families. It doesn’t seem possible that they could fall in love–and stay in love—despite these differences. Eleanor & Park received starred reviews from Booklist, Kirkus, The Horn Book, and School Library Journal.

Walden Book AwardThe winning title and finalists will be honored at the 2014 ALAN Workshop on Monday, November 24 in Washington, D.C. and will be invited to participate in a panel discussion.

The 2014 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award Committee considered nearly 300 young adult titles throughout the process. The committee was comprised of 11 members representing the university, K-12 school, and library communities.

SLJTeen header

This article was featured in our free SLJTeen enewsletter.
Subscribe today to have more articles like this delivered to you twice a month.

Building Literacy-Rich Communities
Hosted by Library Journal and School Library JournalStronger Together is a national gathering of thought leaders and innovators from across the country who will share where and how partnerships between school districts and public libraries are having success. Join us May 10–12 at the University of Nebraska Omaha, as we explore the impact these collaborations are having on the institutions, communities, and kids they serve.


  1. Great job, 2014 AEWA committee! What a great choice for the winner! :) Diane Tuccillo