April 26, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

IRA Calls for Arbuthnot and Jerry Johns Award Nominations

Do you know of an an outstanding educator who you’d like to send to the head of the class? The International Reading Association (IRA) is now accepting applications for both its Arbuthnot and Jerry Johns Award.

The IRA Arbuthnot Award recognizes an outstanding college or university teacher of children’s and/or young adult literature. The award honors the memory of May Hill Arbuthnot (1884-1969) who, along with educator William Scott Gray, created and wrote the Curriculum Foundation Readers— better known as the “Dick and Jane” series—for children, published by Scott, Foresman and Company (now Pearson Scott Foresman). Arbuthnot then went on to write and edit many seminal texts on children’s literature and reading, including The Arbuthnot Anthology of Children’s Literature. The deadline for submission is November 15, 2013; nominees must be IRA members.

The IRA Jerry Johns Outstanding Teacher Educator in Reading Award is a $1,000 award supported by Jerry Johns, a distinguished teacher, writer, outstanding teacher educator, and popular professional development speaker for schools, school districts, and conferences. This award honors an outstanding college or university teacher of reading methods or reading-related courses. Nominees must be IRA members, affiliated with a college or a university, and engaged in teacher preparation in reading at the undergraduate and/or graduate levels. Nominations for this award are also due November 15, 2013.

SLJTeen header

This article was featured in our free SLJTeen enewsletter.
Subscribe today to have more articles like this delivered to you twice a month.

Dodie Ownes About Dodie Ownes

Dodie Ownes left the glamorous world of retrospective conversion and disco to jump on the library vendor train. Since then, she has been learning at the feet of the masters about all things library. Dodie lives in Golden, Colorado, where even the sign which arches the main street says "Howdy."