April 23, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

SFWA’s Norton Award Nominees Include Bray, Hartman, Levithan, McCall

Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) has announced the nominees for its famed Nebula Awards, the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy, and the Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation. Included among the nominees for the Norton Award are Libba Bray’s The Diviners, Rachel Hartman’s Seraphina, David Levithan’s Every Day, and Guadalupe Garcia McCall’s Summer of the Mariposas; all were SLJ Best Books. Enchanted, by Alethea Kontis, an SLJ star book, was also named.

The winners will be announced during the 48th Nebula Awards Weekend, which will be held May 16 to 19, 2013, in San Jose. The weekend will include a mass autograph session, open to the public, by the authors in attendance, hosted by Borderland Books.

The 2012 Nebula Awards, presented in 2013, are voted on by active members of  SFWA. Voting will open to SFWA Active members on March 1 and close on March 30.

The Norton Award was created in 2005 to honor prolific science fiction and fantasy author Andre Norton (1912–2005); she is remembered both for her YA and adult fiction in both the science fiction and fantasy genres. Any published young adult or middle grade science fiction or fantasy novel, including a graphic novel, is eligible for the annual prize.

The Bradbury Award was created in 1992 to recognize excellence in screenwriting; since 2009, it has replaced the Nebula Award for Best Script. Although no longer classified as a Nebula, it is presented at the same ceremony and is subject to the same rules of nominations and voting.

The full lists of Norton and Bradbury Award nominees are as follows:

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy
Iron Hearted Violet, Kelly Barnhill (Little, Brown)
Black Heart, Holly Black (S&S/McElderry)
Above, Leah Bobet (Levine)
The Diviners, Libba Bray (Little, Brown) SLJ Best Book
Vessel, Sarah Beth Durst (S&S/McElderry)
Seraphina, Rachel Hartman (Random) SLJ Best Book
Enchanted, Alethea Kontis (Harcourt) starred by SLJ
Every Day, David Levithan (Knopf) SLJ Best Book
Summer of the Mariposas, Guadalupe Garcia McCall (Tu Books) SLJ Best Book
Railsea, China Miéville (Macmillan)
Fair Coin, E.C. Myers (Pyr)
Above World, Jenn Reese (Candlewick)

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation
The Avengers. Joss Whedon (director). Joss Whedon and Zak Penn (writers).
Beasts of the Southern Wild. Benh Zeitlin (director). Benh Zeitlin and Lucy Abilar (writers).
Journeyman/Cinereach/Court 13/Fox Searchlight.
The Cabin in the Woods. Drew Goddard (director). Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard (writers).
Mutant Enemy/Lionsgate.
The Hunger Games. Gary Ross (director). Gary Ross, Suzanne Collins, and Billy Ray (writers).
John Carter. Andrew Stanton (director). Michael Chabon, Mark Andrews, and Andrew Stanton (writers).
Looper. Rian Johnson (director). Rian Johnson (writer). FilmDistrict/TriStar.

View the complete list of 2012 Nebula Award nominees here.

Founded in 1965 by the late Damon Knight, SFWA has a membership of about 2,000 science fiction and fantasy writers as well as artists, editors, and allied professionals. Each year SFWA presents the Nebula Awards for the year’s best literary and dramatic works of speculative fiction.

Karyn M. Peterson About Karyn M. Peterson

Karyn M. Peterson (kpeterson@mediasourceinc.com) is a former News Editor ofSLJ.