March 18, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

Jacqueline Woodson’s ‘Each Kindness’ Wins 2013 Charlotte Zolotow Award

The Cooperative Children’s Book Center has announced that it has awarded Each Kindness, written by Jacqueline Woodson and illustrated by E. B. Lewis, its Charlotte Zolotow Award for outstanding writing in a picture book. The 2013 Zolotow committee also named Flabbersmashed About You (Feiwel & Friends), Me and Momma and Big John (Candlewick), and Sleep Like a Tiger (Houghton Harcourt) as Honor Books. The awards will be presented on April 6.

Each Kindness, a poignant story about the big impact of small acts of kindness, was edited by Nancy Paulsen and published in the United States in 2012 by Nancy Paulsen Books / Penguin Group (USA) Inc.

Woodson is the sixteenth winner of the annual award from the CCBC, a library of the School of Education at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Established in 1998, the Charlotte Zolotow Award honors the work of Charlotte Zolotow, a distinguished children’s book editor for 38 years with Harper Junior Books, and author of more than 70 picture books, including Mr. Rabbit and the Lovely Present (Harper, 1962) and William’s Doll (Harper, 1972). Ms. Zolotow attended the University of Wisconsin in Madison from 1933 to 1936 on a writing scholarship.

Flabbersmashed About You was written by Rachel Vail, illustrated by Yumi Heo, edited by Liz Szabla, and published by Feiwel and Friends / Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group. Me and Momma and Big John was written by Mara Rockliff, illustrated by William Low, edited by Karen Lotz, and published by Candlewick Press. Sleep Like a Tiger was written by Mary Logue, illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski, edited by Ann Rider, and published by Houghton Mifflin.

The Zolotow Award committee has also cited nine picture book titles as Highly Commended: Auntie Yang’s Great Soybean Picnic, written by Ginnie Lo and illustrated by Beth Lo (Lee & Low Books); Helen’s Big World: The Life of Helen Keller, written by Doreen Rappaport and illustrated by Matt Tavares (Disney / Hyperion); Monet Paints a Day, written by Julie Danneberg and illustrated by Caitlin Heimerl (Charlesbridge); No Go Sleep! written by Kate Feiffer and illustrated by Jules Feiffer (A Paula Wiseman Book / Simon & Schuster); Oh, No! written by Candace Fleming and illustrated by Eric Rohmann (Schwartz & Wade); Spike, the Mixed-up Monster, written by Susan Hood and illustrated by Melissa Sweet (A Paula Wiseman Book / Simon & Schuster); Tea Cakes for Tosh, written by Kelly Starling Lyons and illustrated by E. B. Lewis (Putnam); Underground, written and illustrated by Denise Fleming (Beach Lane); and We March, written and illustrated by Shane W. Evans (A Neal Porter Book / Roaring Brook Press).

The Members of the 2013 Zolotow Award committee were: Merri Lindgren, chair (Librarian, Cooperative Children’s Book Center, Madison, Wisconsin); Amy Alt (Early Childhood Specialist, 4-C, Community Coordinated Child Care, Madison, Wisconsin); Lynn Montague (Youth Services Librarian, Sun Prairie Public Library, Sun Prairie, Wisconsin); Duy Nguyen (Teacher, Franklin Elementary School, Madison, Wisconsin); and Kristine Wildner (Librarian, Holy Apostles School, New Berlin, Wisconsin).

Karyn M. Peterson About Karyn M. Peterson

Karyn M. Peterson ( is a former News Editor ofSLJ.



  1. […] are already new arrivals in the Whittier Collection: “Each Kindness” by Jacqueline Woodson (won the Charlotte Zolotow writing award for this book), illustrated by E. B. Lewis; and “No Crystal Stair: A Documentary Novel of the Life and Work of […]