November 22, 2017

The Advocate's Toolbox

Introducing Medal on My Mind, a new blog about Stonewall Book Award Contenders

We’re always happy to have guest posts here at Teen Librarian Toolbox, especially when they can help boost projects we find really cool. Today the fine folks from Medal on My Mind, a new blog dedicated to examining books that are eligible to win Stonewall Awards, join us to tell us more about their work. […]

Cover Reveal: HOW YOU RUINED MY LIFE by Jeff Strand

Have you read any Jeff Strand? That’s one of my go to questions for anyone – teen or YA reader – who lament that there are not enough funny books in YA. And I get it, the funny is definitely outnumbered in YA, it truly is. But Jeff Strand is a pretty dependable author when […]

Dispelling Some Myths about Public Libraries, One Tweet at a Time

I have worked in public libraries for 24 years now and every few months (weeks? days?) it seems like another think piece or post on social media comes out proclaiming that we should just shut down and stop funding our public libraries because no one even uses them anymore, or everyone just uses the Internet, […]

Malinda Lo and Stephanie Perkins On Genre Hopping, Slasher Films, and More

YA authors Stephanie Perkins and Malinda Lo share what inspired them to venture to the scary side, how their writing process changed, and their feelings on “unlikable” characters.

7 Nightmarish Reads | Adult Books 4 Teens

Witch trials, a coven’s curse, a doppelganger, and more: we present seven supernatural and strange tales perfect for Halloween.

#MeToo: Teens, Libraries and Sexual Harassment

Over recent weeks, a wide variety of discussion has been happening about sexual violence, harassment, and assault. These are important conversations that have wide reaching implications. Make no mistake, these things are also happening in the lives of our teens. With the discussion there has been a lot of sharing online with the hashtag #MeToo. […]

Using Snapchat to Engage Teens at the Library

If you want to engage the teen patrons, go where the teens are. And the teens are on Snapchat. I’ve had this vision in my head of the perfect library Snapchat account since my first job in a teen department. A teen would register for an event that sounded awesome. In the middle of school, […]

Book Review: Calling My Name by Liara Tamani

Publisher’s description Calling My Name, by debut author Liara Tamani, is a striking, luminous, and literary exploration of family, spirituality, and self—ideal for readers of Jacqueline Woodson, Jandy Nelson, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Sandra Cisneros. This unforgettable novel tells a universal coming-of-age story about Taja Brown, a young African American girl growing up in Houston, […]

Teens Tackle Race and Identity, Aided by a Graphic Novel | SLJ Summit 2017

Move over, John Green. In an event featuring star authors, a group of Oregon high school students stole the show at SLJ’s 2017 Summit. Here’s video of the teen panel.

MakerSpace: Using a Silhouette Cameo to Do Screenprinting

This summer as part of our Summer of Shirts, we did a very low-tech version of screen printing, which turned out to be incredibly popular. So I was excited to learn that the Silhouette Cameo can be used to do a more traditional type of screenprinting. It works really well and I HIGHLY recommend it. […]

To Be Or Not To Be Retold—YA Edition | SLJ Spotlight

4 stellar YA titles that put a fresh, contemporary spin on the classics.

This article was published in School Library Journal's October 2017 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Event Recap: John Green’s Turtles All the Way Down Book Tour by Michelle Biwer

Last week John Green, bestselling author and Printz winner for his debut novel Looking for Alaska, began the book tour for his new YA novel Turtles All the Way Down. I was lucky enough to grab a ticket for the sold out event in DC at George Washington University’s Lisner auditorium, which seated 1500 other fans. The […]

Friday Finds: October 20, 2017

This Week at TLT Silhouette Cameo 101: The Manual It Doesn’t Come With, But Should (MakerSpace) Book Review: Like Water by Rebecca Podos Post-it Note Reviews of Elementary and Middle Grade Books Book Review: Ruby & Olivia by Rachel Hawkins TPiB: Easy Peasy DIY Jack-O-Lanterns Book Review: Here, There, Everywhere by Julia Durango and Tyler […]

Book Review: Here, There, Everywhere by Julia Durango and Tyler Terrones

When I’m reviewing books for professional publications, I stay quiet about them on social media. I’m always really excited once a review comes out to be able to talk about the book, finally! Here’s one of my most recent reviews, which originally appeared in the November 2017 issue of School Library Journal.    Here, There, Everywhere by Julia […]

TPiB: Easy Peasy DIY Jack-O-Lanterns

So I got a Silhouette Cameo and I was trying to figure out how to use it, and how to use it with teens, when I stumbled across an easy and fun craft idea. You can do it with or without a Silhouette Cameo, it’s easily adaptable. I made my examples using the Silhouette Cameo. […]

Book Review: Ruby & Olivia by Rachel Hawkins

  Publisher’s summary: A contemporary story with a twinkle of magic, RUBY AND OLIVIA is a pacey, gently creepy book filled with lovable characters and snappy humor. At its core, this is the story of two girls who are not friends learning that they might have more in common than they ever expected – even […]

Fostering Good Citizens, Online and Off

Strategies for teaching digital citizenship skills to students.

This article was published in School Library Journal's October 2017 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Post-it Note Reviews of Elementary and Middle Grade Books

Now that I work in an elementary library, I’m reading a lot more titles for younger readers. Rather than review all of them like I usually do, especially as many are older, I’m going to steal Karen’s Post-it note review idea and share the titles with you that way. It’s been super interesting to me […]

Book Review: Like Water by Rebecca Podos

Publisher’s description Like Water is an unforgettable story of two girls navigating the unknowable waters of identity, millennial anxiety, and first love, from the acclaimed author of The Mystery of Hollow Places. In Savannah Espinoza’s small New Mexico hometown, kids either flee after graduation or they’re trapped there forever. Vanni never planned to get stuck—but that was […]

Silhouette Cameo 101: The Manual It Doesn’t Come With, But Should (MakerSpace)

I have spent the last couple of weeks trying to figure out how to use and evaluating the Silhouette Cameo for our Teen Makerspace at The Public Library of Mount Vernon and Knox County (OH). You can read my initial thoughts here: MakerSpace Mondays: The Silhouette Cameo – a review MakerSpace Mondays: The Silhouette Cameo […]