November 17, 2017

Subscribe to SLJ

On Boys and Guns | Readers Respond

With the state of gun violence, we adults are freaked out, as we should be. But for children, the fantasy of having a gun is the fantasy of having power, observes a reader, who comments on a recent post by Betsy Bird.

This article was published in School Library Journal's October 2017 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Book Review: American Street by Ibi Zoboi

Publisher’s description American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture. On […]

Book Review: The Truth of Right Now by Kara Lee Corthron

Publisher’s description Two isolated teens struggle against their complicated lives to find a true connection in this heartwrenching debut novel about first love and the wreckage of growing up. Lily is returning to her privileged Manhattan high school after a harrowing end to her sophomore year and it’s not pretty. She hates chemistry and her […]

Schools Look To Talk Race, Violence, and Tolerance with Students

As the start of school approaches, educators around the country are grappling with the best way to support students who have questions about the shootings in the news.