January 16, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

A Safer Future: Shaping a New Norm with #MeToo | Editorial

Librarians can do more to raise awareness of the rights of girls and women, and of sexism and its price—and build cultural literacy about consent vs coercion.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

The Five Ed Tech Elephants in the PreK–12 Classroom | Opinion

From OER to equitable access, schools continue to battle challenges to the digital revolution.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Board Books Make Us Happy| Editors’ Picks

SLJ review editors select four dozen of the season’s most colorful and entertaining board books in this special roundup.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Robin Benway Opens Up About Her National Book Award–Winning YA Novel

The YA lit expert talks to the author about her acclaimed adoption-focused YA novel, her writing process, and what’s next.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

A Little Bit Of This… Hybrids | Great Books

Fans of Jeff Kinney, Dav Pilkey, and Renée Russell have spoken: hybrid fiction is here to stay.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

SLJ’s January 2018 Popular Picks

Harrison spotlights brave black women; two teen boys struggle with an evolving friendship; an aquatic twist on “There Was An Old Lady Who Swallowed A Fly” and more in our first 2018 Popular Picks!

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Nonfiction Titles That Do Double Duty | SLJ Spotlight

Two nonfiction titles that offer a wealth of curriculum connections.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Graphic Novels: A “Jane Eyre” Update, Pick for “Wimpy Kid” Fans, and More | January 2018 Xpress Reviews

Whether looking for a graphic novel update on the Bronte classic or a suggestion for readers of yuri (manga focusing on lesbian romance), these web-exclusive reviews present a sneak peek at recent titles.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

YA: A “Doctor Who” Spin-Off, Teen Greek Gods & More | January 2018 Xpress Reviews

An engaging Spanish-language title about life and love; the true tale of a WWI poet; and a layered, multi-voiced new title about police violence from a teen writing collective are featured in January’s YA Xpress.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Vashti Harrison, From Internet Sensation to Biographer Extraordinaire

Harrison discusses how she researched, wrote, and illustrated Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History, a collected biography for all ages.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

The Latest STEM and History Titles | January 2018 Xpress Reviews

This batch of online-only nonfiction reviews includes books on knights, redwood trees, and a photo diary of Obama’s presidency.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Advocate This, Not That!

Four bold strategies to elevate your school library.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

A Middle Grade Sci-Fi Anthology and More | January 2018 Xpress Reviews

See why Young Explorer’s Adventure Guide is an apt title for this collection of kid-friendly stories told in an out-of-the-box, Ray Bradburyish adventure style.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Picture Books: An Elvis Presley Tune, Mindfulness, and More | January 2018 Xpress Reviews

From storytime picks to one-on-one lapsits, check out these picture book selections.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.