September 20, 2017

Subscribe to SLJ

Book Review: They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera

Publisher’s description New York Times bestselling author Adam Silvera reminds us that there’s no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day. On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to […]

Romance with a Twist: The New “Everything, Everything” Movie

Nicola Yoon’s acclaimed YA novel Everything, Everything comes to the big screen, starring Amandla Stenberg.

13 Must-Read Titles for Asian Pacific American Heritage Month

Celebrate Asian Pacific American Heritage Month with novels and works of nonfiction that highlight the Asian American experience.

Book Review: Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman

Publisher’s description Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will fall in love this contemporary debut about finding yourself-and finding love-in unexpected places. Ocean breeze in her hair and sand between her toes, Anise can’t wait to spend the summer before her senior year surfing and hanging out on the beach with friends. Santa Cruz […]

Assorted Spring Loves | Adult Books 4 Teens

From a dark novel about an obsessive crush to a sci-fi thriller about two teens on the run who fall for each other, the latest offerings for teens represent genre diversity, but all center on love.

A Little Heart | New in YA Romance

From coming-of-age stories with a dusting of romance to a modern-day Romeo & Juliet, there’s something here to suit everyone.

Tween-Friendly Romance Titles | The Upper Deck

Columnist Tara Kron takes a look at three recent YA titles that bring the romance—in developmentally appropriate doses—for tween readers.

Places No One Knows

Places No One Knows, Brenna Yovanoff Delacorte Press, May 2016 Reviewed from an ARC Maybe here is a good time to say, I love Brenna Yovanoff. I love her writing, her dark and delicious fantasies. This fifth title is more along the lines of magical realism than straight out fantasy. The slow and sweet Waverly/Marshall […]

My Love Story!! Volume 1

Takeo Goda is a GIANT guy with a GIANT heart. Too bad the girls don’t want him! (They want his good-looking best friend, Sunakawa.) Used to being on the sidelines, Takeo simply stands tall and accepts his fate. But one day when he saves a girl named Yamato from a harasser on the train, his […]

Book Review: P.S. I Like You by Kasie West

Publisher’s description Signed, sealed, delivered… While spacing out in Chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds that someone has continued the lyrics on the desk, and added a message to her. Intrigue! Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters — […]

The Game of Love and Death

The Game of Love and Death by Martha Brockenbrough Arthur A. Levine/Scholastic, April 2015 Reviewed from an ARC Last week, I spent my time talking about unusual formats. This week, I’m not dealing with an unsual format — just straight up prose here, folks — but this title does have a unique feel. It’s like […]

Book Review: Under the Lights by Dahlia Adler

Publisher’s description: Josh Chester loves being a Hollywood bad boy, coasting on his good looks, his parties, his parents’ wealth, and the occasional modeling gig. But his laid-back lifestyle is about to change. To help out his best friend, Liam, he joins his hit teen TV show, Daylight Falls … opposite Vanessa Park, the one […]

YALSA GGNT Top Ten Manga: Strobe Edge Volume 1-6

Ninako Kinoshita has no idea what love is. Her friends think they know, and they try to tell her it’s her feelings for Daiki, a boy she’s known since middle school. But it’s not until she talks to Ren Ichinose, the handsome, enigmatic guy that all the girls worship, that she starts to understand. Ren […]

Review: Sweet Rein Volume 1-3

Kurumi Sagara is sad about spending Christmas alone. While taking a walk, she bumps into a boy and a rein appears to connect them. The boy, Kaito, says that he is a magical reindeer who obeys her every command and that she is his Santa Claus. She doesn’t believe him—until he changes into a reindeer […]

YALSA GGNT Top Ten Manga: Heart of Thomas

In a boys’ boarding school in mid-20th Century Germany, fourteen-year-old Thomas Werner falls from a lonely pedestrian overpass to his death, but not before mailing a letter to another boy at the school, Juli. Thomas’s death causes a stir at the school just as Thomas’s letter throws Juli into an emotional turmoil. And if that […]

New Manga Steals Readers Hearts

Viz Media has released a new series from Arina Tanemura, the creator of much-loved titles such as Full Moon, The Gentleman’s Alliance Cross, and Sakura Hime. Phantom Thief Jeanne  is about magical girl Maron Kusakabe, a regular high school girl by day, and phantom art thief at night! She steals paintings from private art collections […]

Review: Bright Before Sunrise

Bright Before Sunrise by Tiffany Schmidt. Walker Books, an imprint of Bloomsbury. 2014. Review copy from publisher. The Plot: Is it possible for one night to make a difference in a person’s life? Jonah and Brighton are about to find out. The Good: First things first: I loved this book. I loved Jonah and Brighton, separate […]

The Debut: SLJ Chats with CJ Lyons About ‘Broken’ and Why Fear is Useless

CJ Lyons is an award-winning, critically acclaimed bestselling author of 21 adult novels. Now she has published her first YA novel. And she found the time to launch the “Buy a Book, Make a Difference” campaign that’s funded 54 scholarships to help fight crime and raised an additional $75,000 for charities.

Happily Ever After?

I like romance novels. When I have time to fit in books that aren’t young adult books, romance tops the list. Well, along with mystery. And non-fiction. I have to admit, I am very particular about romances. About what is called a “romance.” What I want is simple: couple meet, stuff happens, happy ending. I’m […]

Labor of Love: Behind the Scenes at Swoon Reads

After more than a year of brainstorming behind the scenes, Macmillan’s new Swoon Reads project celebrated its hard launch late last month with about 50 manuscripts available for review and a major ramping up of its marketing, publicity, and advertising campaigns. The project gives fans unprecedented power to choose which new teen romance novels they wish to see published.