November 19, 2017

Subscribe to SLJ

Connecting with One Another: Social Science | Series Nonfiction

Are you students in need of a little global goodwill? Check out these latest series that promote social awareness and responsibility.

This article was published in School Library Journal's April 2017 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

#MHYALit: Speak Up! A guest post about PTSD by author Shannon Greenland

Yesterday, PTSD got a lot of attention. The truth is, PTSD is a psychological response to extreme trauma. Soldiers are not the only individuals that experience PTSD. Many other people experience PTSD, including victims of violent crimes, people who experience an extreme life event like a car accident, and even women who have a traumatic […]

#MHYALit Book Review: Meet Me Here by Bryan Bliss

Publisher’s description In a single night—graduation night—Thomas has to decide: do what everyone has always expected of him, or forge an entirely new path? Bryan Bliss’s absorbing examination of one boy struggling with expectations and realities will appeal to readers of Sara Zarr and Chris Crutcher. Thomas is supposed to leave for the Army in […]

Book Review: Underwater by Marisa Reichardt

Publisher’s description: Morgan didn’t mean to do anything wrong that day. Actually, she meant to do something right. But her kind act inadvertently played a role in a deadly tragedy. In order to move on, Morgan must learn to forgive-first someone who did something that might be unforgivable, and then, herself. But Morgan can’t move […]

#MHYALit: IT’S NOT YOUR FAULT: LIVING EACH DAY WITH PTSD by Tom Leveen

Today as part of our #MHYALit Discussion we are honored to once again host Tom Leveen. Yesterday Tom shared a post with us about Panic. Today he is discussing PTSD. We will have a new post every week day in January on the topic of Mental Health in YA Literature and the life of teens. […]

Tackling Mental Health Through YA Lit

How to foster a culture of empathy and help youth who are facing mental health challenges, with advice on educating staff and helping teens access information. Includes recommended YA titles that address topics from addiction to self-harm.

This article was published in School Library Journal's November 2015 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Ring the Bell: Back-to-School YA Titles

The new school year brings teens the possibilities of new friendships. In Malala’s case, it meant fighting for her right to even go to school. In a fantasy novel, being one of the “in crowd” could mean your death. The following selections from Junior Library Guild editors will lead readers into the divergent worlds of life in high school.