June 26, 2017

Subscribe to SLJ

Book Review: That Thing We Call a Heart by Sheba Karim

Publisher’s description This young adult novel by Sheba Karim, author of Skunk Girl, is a funny and affecting coming-of-age story for fans of Jenny Han, Megan McCafferty, and Sara Farizan. Shabnam Qureshi is facing a summer of loneliness and boredom until she meets Jamie, who scores her a job at his aunt’s pie shack. Shabnam […]

Assorted Spring Loves | Adult Books 4 Teens

From a dark novel about an obsessive crush to a sci-fi thriller about two teens on the run who fall for each other, the latest offerings for teens represent genre diversity, but all center on love.

Book Review: What Girls Are Made Of by Elana Arnold

Publisher’s description This is not a story of sugar and spice and everything nice. When Nina Faye was fourteen, her mother told her there was no such thing as unconditional love. Nina believed her. Now Nina is sixteen. And she’ll do anything for the boy she loves, just to prove she’s worthy of him. But […]

Book Review: At the Edge of the Universe by Shaun David Hutchinson

Publisher’s description From the author of We Are the Ants and The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley comes the heartbreaking story of a boy who believes the universe is slowly shrinking as things he remembers are being erased from others’ memories. Tommy and Ozzie have been best friends since the second grade, and boyfriends since […]

Book Review: The Careful Undressing of Love by Corey Ann Haydu

Publisher’s description The girls of Devonairre Street have always been told they’re cursed. Any boy they love is certain to die too soon. But this is Brooklyn in 2008, and the curse is less a terror and more a lifestyle accessory—something funky and quaint that makes the girls from the shortest street in Brooklyn special. […]

Book Review: History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

Publisher’s description From the New York Times bestselling author of More Happy Than Not comes an explosive examination of grief, mental illness, and the devastating consequences of refusing to let go of the past. When Griffin’s first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes. Even though Theo had moved to […]

The Perils of Love | Adult Books 4 Teens

Teens will appreciate this genre- and format-spanning assortment of tales about love gone wrong; included are Daniel Clowes’s romantic time-traveling adventure, a thriller about Mata Hari, and Rebecca Traister’s astute feminism perspective on marriage and relationships.