June 23, 2017

Subscribe to SLJ

Book Review: The Lines We Cross by Randa Abdel-Fattah

Publisher’s description Michael likes to hang out with his friends and play with the latest graphic design software. His parents drag him to rallies held by their anti-immigrant group, which rails against the tide of refugees flooding the country. And it all makes sense to Michael. Until Mina, a beautiful girl from the other side […]

Books for Trying Times: A Resource List complied by members of KidLit Resists!

Today’s list of resources is brought to you by the members of KidLit Resists! We’re a Facebook group for members of the KidLit community (authors, illustrators, editors, youth librarians, booksellers, and others who create and support picture books, MG books, and YA books) who wish to organize against the current administration’s agenda and support those communities targeted […]

Book Review: American Street by Ibi Zoboi

Publisher’s description American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture. On […]

Sunday Reflections: Muslim Voices

If you know me at all, you know I am quite fond of my library minions. And when I say “my library minions,” I mean the teens and young adults I have gotten to know over the past many years working in high school and public libraries in central Minnesota. I’ve since moved and am […]

Love and Justice: What I’ve learned from those seeking refuge in the U.S., a guest post by author Marie Marquardt

Today we are very honored to be talking with author Marie Marquardt about her work with Latin American immigrant families for the Social Justice in YA Lit Project. Her book, The Radius of Us, is very timely given recent events happening here in the United States. You can find out more about the #SJYALit Project […]

After Travel Ban, Schools and Libraries Reassure Students and Families

Schools pledge support to families, public libraries throw open their doors, and students commit acts of kindness while monitoring bullying.

A Kaleidoscope of Cultures | New Books on Immigration

These new books can be appreciated on many levels, shared to help encourage empathy for others, and utilized to initiate further research and discussion of immigration and refugees from around the world.

A Path Forward: How Libraries Support Refugee Children

Programs and outreach for kids and families adjusting to life in the United States.

This article was published in School Library Journal's November 2016 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Graphic Novels Portray Bicultural America

Works by Gene Luen Yang, Dan Santat, Nidhi Chanani, and others reveal the commonality of experience among Americans who have immigrant parents.

This article was published in School Library Journal's August 2016 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Digital Visual Dictionary Bridges Language Gap for Refugees

In Germany, a new tool is being used to ease the adjustment for the throngs of new immigrants coming from the Middle East, especially children.

Comics, Catastrophes, and Crime | Reference

This month, check out a history of comics, a look at catastrophes and tragic events, and an examination of war crimes and atrocities.

This article was published in School Library Journal's August 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

East Harlem Bookstore Launches Book Drive to Aid Unaccompanied Child Immigrants

A bookseller, a professor, and members of the El Barrio community in Manhattan’s East Harlem neighborhood have launched a project to serve the needs of detained children from Mexico and Central America.