Google+

July 23, 2014

Subscribe to SLJ

How Librarians Can Help Fight the Culture of Slut-Shaming

the truth about alice

YA authors are tackling “the s-word” head-on. As professionals serving young people, librarians can talk to teens about why slut-shaming can’t be tolerated—and provide supportive programming.

AASL Approves New Mission Statement of Empowerment

AASL logo

At the 2014 ALA Annual Conference in Las Vegas, the AASL Board of Directors unanimously voted to approve a new mission statement for the association that more accurately reflects its goals and practices.

Library and Education Groups File Net Neutrality Comments with FCC

Concern over net neutrality rules prompted a joint filing by a coalition that includes ALA and EDUCAUSE, with suggestions to ensure the preservation of “an open Internet for libraries, higher education and the communities we serve.”

Amazon Launches Kindle Unlimited Ebook Subscription Service

Kindle Unlimited 600

Upon the announcement of Amazon’s ebook subscription program Kindle Unlimited, Gary Price, INFOdocket editor, writes “Are libraries ready to compete with these services?”

2014 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award Finalists Announced

Winger

The Assembly on Literature for Adolescents (ALAN) of the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) has announced the finalists for the 2014 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award for Young Adult Fiction. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, July 30.

New ALA Report Examines Licensing Model for Ebooks in School Libraries

EH140626-McGraw-Hill_Follett-eBook

For libraries, buying or licensing ebooks is a very different story than the average consumer simply clicking and purchasing off a book retailer website. A new report from the American Library Association takes a close look at the licensing models for ebooks, for school libraries in particular and how these policies affect access for students.

SLJTeen Chats with Emily Kiebel, Debut Author of ‘Serenade’

Serenade

SLJTeen chats with debut author and choral singer Emily Kiebel about her novel Serenade, which focuses on a teen overcoming her grief at her father’s death while learning that she comes from a long line of sirens.

Collaborating on the Summer Slide: University Students Tutor at Jacksonville Public Library

UNF Tutoring program

A unique partnership between Jacksonville (FL) Public Library and the University of North Florida continues to bring tutoring services to children who might otherwise experience the “summer slide.”

‘Gatsby’ and ‘Brideshead Revisited’ Readalikes for Teens | SLJ Spotlight

even in paradise

Chelsey Philpot’s Even in Paradise and Charles Finch’s The Last Enchantments explore the lush secret lives of the rich and privileged.

SLJ Interviews Vince Vawter, Newbery Honor-Winning Author of ‘Paperboy’

Vince Vawter_credit J  Miles Cary

Vince Vawter talks about his semi-autobiographical, Newbery Honor-winning book, his boyhood with a debilitating stutter, and the “overwhelming” response to Paperboy.