May 30, 2016

Subscribe to SLJ

#MHYALit: It’s Okay Not to Be Okay, a guest post by author Claire Legrand

Some Kind of Happiness is one of those books that grabbed me from the first page and didn’t let go. I was a child with anxiety and Finley Hart is the first time I have ever seen an accurate representation of my mental state in childhood. We desperately need more middle grade stories that deal […]

Book Review: True Letters from a Fiction Life by Kenneth Logan

When I’m reviewing books for professional publications, I stay quiet about them on social media. I’m always really excited once a review comes out to be able to talk about the book, finally! Here’s one of my most recent reviews, which originally appeared in the May 2016 issue of School Library Journal.   Gr 9 Up—Seventeen-year-old James reveals […]

#MHYALit Book Review: 100 Days of Cake by Shari Goldhagen

Publisher’s description Get well soon isn’t going to cut it in this quirky and poignant debut novel about a girl, her depression, an aggressive amount of baked goods, and the struggle to simply stay afloat in an unpredictable, bittersweet life. Every other senior at Cove High School might be mapping out every facet of their […]

#MHYALit: What You Want to Hear, a guest post by Shari Goldhagen

In 100 Days of Cake, Molly has a, um, confused relationship with her therapist. Her friends and family love her and would love to fix her, but they don’t really understand what she’s going through, so a lot of times—like when her mom decides to bake all the cakes—their efforts aren’t particularly helpful and then […]

Middle School Monday: Saying Goodbye to Middle School

I’ve been a middle school librarian for the past 18 years. A week from Friday will be my last day. It’s kind of difficult to wrap my mind around it, but I’m actually leaving schools to be a youth services librarian in a public library. I’m really excited for this new adventure, but it is […]

MakerSpace: Low Tech Tool – The Recycled Paper Bead Maker

On a whim, I bought this low tech tool for the MakerSpace, prompted in part by the fact that it was on clearance at Michael’s for $5.00. I looked and it is available at Amazon for $10.00, which is still a good price. In fact, I’m going to buy a couple more for the Teen […]

Sunday Reflections: The Teen, Me, Genetics and HG (Hyperemesis Gravidarum World Awareness Day)

As I look over at the teen who is sitting on the couch reading a book, she is the spitting image of me in many ways. I could not be prouder to have passed my genetic material onto this glorious child and get to call myself her mom. Nature? Nurture? A little of both? I’m […]

Friday Finds: May 13, 2016

This Week at TLT Sunday Reflections: We Are More Than Mothers, We Are More Than Our Bodies MakerSpace: Thumbprint Art Buttons Middle School Monday: The Trials of Apollo (not a book review) #MHYALit: Writing a Therapy-Positive Book, a guest post by Marisa Reichardt Book Review: Ask Me How I Got Here by Christine Heppermann Twin […]

#MHYALit: Agoraphobia in YA Lit, THE OUTLIERS by Kimberly McCreight and HIGHLY ILLOGICAL BEHAVIOR by John Corey Whaley

Agoraphobia is an extreme type of anxiety that can result inpanic attacks. It can become so extreme that people become unable to leave their houses and they stick to strict routines hoping to avoid triggering these panic attacks. Peanuts creator Charles Shulz, for example, suffered from depression and agoraphobia. Towards the end of his life […]

Book Review: Anything You Want by Geoff Herbach

Publisher’s description Taco’s mom always said, “Today is the best day of your life, and tomorrow will be even better.” That was hard to believe the day she died of cancer and when Taco’s dad had to move up north for work, but he sure did believe it when Maggie Corrigan agreed to go with […]

Keeping a Kids’ Writing Workshop Going

1605_KeepWorkshop-Dooley-TN

“Free Verse” author Sarah Dooley has been leading a writing group at a West Virginia public library for six years.

This article was published in School Library Journal's May 2016 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

In Our Mailbox: How Do You Keep Track of New Releases?

Occasionally we get email from readers, which we try to answer. One question we’ve gotten asked a lot is about how we keep track of upcoming MG and YA releases. So today we thought we would share with you each of our personal methods. Share yours with us in the comments please. How Karen Keeps […]

Video Games Weekly: StarFox Zero

Star Fox Zero was initially supposed to come out last year in 2015, but it was pushed back until April 2016.  Since it was delayed for so long, Nintendo fans have been impatiently waiting for the newest installment to the Star Fox series.  For this review, I asked my partner, Andres, to play the game […]

Twin Cities Teen Lit Con

This past Saturday I got to spend the day hanging out at Twin Cities Teen Lit Con. I was asked to present two sessions on What to Read Next. The lineup they had was phenomenal. Check out the program, some pictures from my presentation, and some of the swag I got. My talk was about new […]

Sponsored | Join Macmillan Library (Booth # 1958-1959) @ BEA 2016

Talia + Anne - cats pajamas edit

Join Macmillan Library at BookExpo America in Chicago.

Teens Review Matthew Quick’s Latest, “Peter Pan” Reimagined, and More

EH160510_GC4K_TeensReview

The Kitsap (WA) Regional Library YA Book Group reviews summer thrillers, an ode to social media, and Matthew Quick’s Every Exquisite Thing.

Apply for AASL Inspire Grants; ALAN Grants for Librarians Announced | SLJ Teen News

awards&grants

The American Association of School Librarians invites school librarians to apply for two new grants. The Assembly on Literature for Adolescents has two new awards that may be of interest to librarians working with teens.

Audiobooks and the Summer Reading Push | Tech Tidbits

Sync_icon_blue

Audiobooks are just what teens need to combat the summer slide. Teacher librarian Phil Goerner shares the top free resources to offer over the break.

Book Review: Ask Me How I Got Here by Christine Heppermann

Publisher’s description How do you define yourself? By your friends? Your family? Your boyfriend? Your grades? Your trophies? Your choices? By a single choice? From the author of the acclaimed Poisoned Applescomes a novel in verse about a young woman and the aftermath of a life-altering decision. Fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Ellen Hopkins […]

#MHYALit: Writing a Therapy-Positive Book, a guest post by Marisa Reichardt

Today we are honored to share a guest post by author Marisa Reichardt. You can read my review of Marisa’s book, Underwater, here. For an index of all of the posts in our Mental Health in YA Literature project, please visit our #MHYALit hub.      I’ve been terrified to write this blog post.   I’m […]