May 23, 2017

Subscribe to SLJ

Book Review: That Thing We Call a Heart by Sheba Karim

Publisher’s description This young adult novel by Sheba Karim, author of Skunk Girl, is a funny and affecting coming-of-age story for fans of Jenny Han, Megan McCafferty, and Sara Farizan. Shabnam Qureshi is facing a summer of loneliness and boredom until she meets Jamie, who scores her a job at his aunt’s pie shack. Shabnam […]

Video Games Weekly: Overcooked – One of the Best Teen Game Night Games You’ve Never Heard Of

It took me a whole month to finally beat Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, and I’m happy to say it’s by far one of the best games of 2017.  Now that I’m done playing that game forever, I am moving on to more casual games.  This week, I have discovered probably one of […]

Stellar Speculative Fiction from VanderMeer, Sedgwick, and More

Looking for postapocalyptic worlds and fantastical settings? Among this week’s offerings are a wholly originally take on dystopian fiction from Jeff VanderMeer and a novel from Marcus Sedgwick that gives the term photographic memory an entirely new meaning.

#MHYALit at Teen Lit Con

This past weekend TLTer Amanda MacGregor presented a session at Teen Lit Con on Mental Health in YA Lit. She references and draws on the work that we have done here for the past year and a half discussing mental health in YA lit as part of the #MHYALit Project. You can read a recap […]

Book Review: City of Angels by Kristi Belcamino

Publisher’s description Nikki Black has been self-imposed lone wolf since her mother died, fleeing suburban Chicago to escape her painful past. But when her so-called boyfriend reveals why he really lured her to Southern California, she ends up on the streets of Los Angeles with only the clothes on her back and a destitute twelve-year-old […]

1980s Heartthrob Andrew McCarthy Now an Accidental YA Author

Fly Away Home represents a first for the actor-writer-director, who counts many librarians as both former and current fans.

Jennifer Yu on Mental Health, Writing, and Her Debut “Four Weeks, Five People”

The debut author chats about her inspiration for Four Weeks, Five People, her writing process, and what she’s working on next.

Middle School Monday: Teens, Body Image and Wonder Woman

A couple of weeks ago, my teenage daughter came to me, lifted up her shirt and told me she was thin. And I had what may arguably be one of my worst parenting moments. I looked her straight in the eye and said, “I’m not, so what.” As the mom to a middle school girl, […]

In Our Mailbox: More Thoughts on 13 Reason Why, Teens and Libraries

Trigger Warning: Discussion of Sexual Violence and Suicide So I received a message in my email asking my thoughts on 13 Reasons Why and programming. At the same time, Heather Booth was thinking about doing a book discussion and she tweeted out asking people their thoughts, so we called and talked about it. Here’s what […]

Sunday Reflections: Thinking About Mental Health, a #MHYALit Post by Ally Watkins

May is Mental Health Awareness Month. For today’s Sunday Reflections my friend and frequent #MHYALit (Mental Health in YA Lit) contributor Ally Watkins shares a thoughtful piece about her own personal experiences. You can read all of the #MHYALit posts here, or click on the tag #MHYALit. I had my first panic attack when I […]

Book Review: Spill Zone by Scott Westerfeld and Alex Puvilland

From the publisher: Three years ago an event destroyed the small city of Poughkeepsie, forever changing reality within its borders. Uncanny manifestations and lethal dangers now await anyone who enters the Spill Zone.The Spill claimed Addison’s parents and scarred her little sister, Lexa, who hasn’t spoken since. Addison provides for her sister by photographing the […]

Book Review: Spill Zone by Scott Westerfeld and Alex Puvilland

From the publisher: Three years ago an event destroyed the small city of Poughkeepsie, forever changing reality within its borders. Uncanny manifestations and lethal dangers now await anyone who enters the Spill Zone.The Spill claimed Addison’s parents and scarred her little sister, Lexa, who hasn’t spoken since. Addison provides for her sister by photographing the […]

Friday Finds: May 5, 2017

This week at TLT Sunday Reflections: Doing the Heavy Lifting at the Library, Working with a Hurting Public to Find Healing #SJYALit: The Lunar Chronicles as a Reflection of Current U.S. Political Climate, a guest post by Emily Keyes Book Review: Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman Book Review: How to Make a Wish […]

David Levithan Wins 2017 Chicago Tribune YA Prize

The young adult author, editor, and 2016 Margaret A. Edwards Award winner is the recipient of the annual Chicago Tribune Young Adult Literary Prize.

#MHYALit: A Letter to My Teen Self, by author Sara Wolf

As part of our ongoing discussion of teens and mental health, we are honored to host author Sara Wolf, who has written a beautiful letter to her teen self. You can find all the #MHYALit posts here. Dear Teen Me, In the grand scheme of things, you’re a bit of a shit, aren’t you? You […]

Book Review: The Lines We Cross by Randa Abdel-Fattah

Publisher’s description Michael likes to hang out with his friends and play with the latest graphic design software. His parents drag him to rallies held by their anti-immigrant group, which rails against the tide of refugees flooding the country. And it all makes sense to Michael. Until Mina, a beautiful girl from the other side […]

Sunday Reflections: When There is No Village

What if I wrote a Sunday Reflections, but on a Wednesday? What if I couldn’t wait until Sunday to share my heart with you? Today is that day. Summer is coming. It doesn’t quite have the ring to it as Winter is Coming, but it’s true. And with the winding down of the school year […]

Take 5: MakerSpace Tools I Learned About at TLA 2017

I recently had the pleasure of attending – and speaking – at the annual Texas Library Association conference. Today I am going to share with you 5 Makerspace tools I learned about. MakeDo Cardboard Construction Kit Make Do are cardboard construction pieces that work as nuts and bolts for cardboard. This means that you can […]

Book Review: How to Make a Wish by Ashley Herring Blake

Publisher’s description Grace, tough and wise, has nearly given up on wishes, thanks to a childhood spent with her unpredictable, larger-than-life mother. But this summer, Grace meets Eva, a girl who believes in dreams, despite her own difficult circumstances.   One fateful evening, Eva climbs through a window in Grace’s room, setting off a chain […]

Book Review: Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman

Publisher’s description Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will fall in love this contemporary debut about finding yourself-and finding love-in unexpected places. Ocean breeze in her hair and sand between her toes, Anise can’t wait to spend the summer before her senior year surfing and hanging out on the beach with friends. Santa Cruz […]