Google+

July 29, 2014

Subscribe to SLJ

Q & A with Librarian and YA Author Mindy McGinnis of ‘Not a Drop to Drink’

MindyMcGinnissetfeature

Library aide Mindy McGinness’s first book Not a Drop to Drink, a dystopian YA novel, was recently optioned by “Twilight” series author Stephenie Meyer to be made into a film.

The Debut: SLJTeen Talks with Heather Brittain Bergstrom, Author of ‘Steal the North’

Steal the North

Adult Books 4 Teens reviewer Diane Colson digs into Heather Brittain Bergstrom’s debut novel, Steal the North, rich in imagery from eastern Washington, Indian reservations, and Baptist fundamentalism. It’s a love story, not only for characters Reuben and Emmy but for anyone who finds themselves missing the place they once ran away from.

Break Out Your Hankies: ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ | Film Review

Hazel and Gus1-feature

SLJ reviews John Green’s page-to-screen hit adaptation of The Fault in Our Stars, which opens June 6.

Where, What, How, and Why Teens Do and Don’t Read | Consider the Source

r-STUDENT-READING-large570

In his last column, Marc Aronson raised a number of questions about the recently released Common Sense Media brief on “Children, Teens, and Reading.” Seeta Pai, Vice President of Research at Common Sense Media, responds.

The Illusion of “Normal” | SLJ Chats with Cammie McGovern About ‘Say What You Will’

Cammie McGovern

Cammie McGovern aims to fill a gap in young adult literature with Say What You Will—featuring complicated, fleshed out characters with disabilities who live, fall in love, and make mistakes just like anyone else. She talks with SLJ about her inspiration for the novel, diversity in YA lit, and what she’s working on next.

Veronica Roth in Conversation with Alex London | BookCon 2014

Veronica Roth Alex London

Two stars of the YA book world, the “Divergent” series’ Veronica Roth and the “Proxy” series’ Alex London, joined a packed room of wildly enthusiastic fans at BookCon 2014 on the main event stage of the Javits Center in New York City on May 31.

Sounds of Summer: YA Fiction for Beach Reading | JLG’s Booktalks to Go Teen

This one summer

Beaches. Late nights. No school. Such are the joys of summer. Yet for some teens, those few months give them more time to face their family’s dysfunction―or to make bad choices. Junior Library Guild’s Booktalks to Go Teen selections offer food for thought.

The Debut: Serah-Marie McMahon Talks About ‘The Worn Archive’

Worn Archive

The Worn Archive collects the best pieces from Worn, an alternative fashion magazine which over the years has featured articles on topics as varied as the chemistry of dry cleaning, the history of the safety pin, the work of a textile conservator, and a glossary of hijab.

Call for 2015 YALSA Conference Programs

YALSA logo

YALSA is now accepting proposals for continuing education sessions to be presented at the 2015 ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco, June 26-30, 2015. The deadline for submissions is July 1.

Teens Review Latest from Neon Trees, Hunter Hayes, and FIFA World Cup

PopPsychology

Neon Trees’s latest release, Pop Psychology, demonstrates growing command of both sound and lyrics. Wunderkind Hunter Hayes brings a new level of class to the often cliched world of country western music. Can’t make the trip to Rio for the 2014 World Cup soccer games? Not a problem—FIFA’s 2014 World Cup Brazil will take you there for a fraction of the cost.

Video: Unreliable YA Narrators, Love ‘em—Hate ‘em|SLJ Day of Dialog 2014

Unreliable narrators panel

Unreliable narrators fascinate—but do they have to be likable to engage readers? Young Adult authors Jodi Lynn Anderson, Alaya Dawn Johnson, E. Lockhart, Barry Lyga, and Meg Wolitzer shared their thoughts in an all-star panel.

Teens Review ‘Second Star’, ‘Hungry’, and a Second Take on ‘My Last Kiss’

Hungry

Our teen reviewers report on a reimagining of the Peter Pan story, Second Star, and an intriguing look at a world without food, Hungry. The latter title adds to the recent spate of environmental fiction in YA lit.

Enter to Win Tracy Barrett’s ‘The Stepsister’s Tale’ | Giveaway

The Stepsister's Tale

Tracy Barrett has penned 20 books for young adults. Her latest, The Stepsister’s Tale, puts an unexpected spin on the Cinderella story guaranteed to delight fans of fairy tale retellings.

U.S. High School Graduation Rate Reaches 80 Percent for the First Time

Graduation rates

The high school graduation rate for the class of 2012 was 80 percent in the United States—the highest in the history of the country and a one percentage point gain over last year, the National Center for Education Statistics reports.

James Herriot’s ‘All Creatures Great and Small’: Complimentary Common Core Aligned Teacher’s Edition | Sponsored Content

ACGS Teacher's Guide

Since All Creatures Great & Small was first published 25 years ago, readers have been delighted with the storytelling genius of James Herriot, the Yorkshire veterinarian whose fascinating vignettes brim with the wonder of life, animal and human. And now there are free Common Core correlations available for use in your classrooms.

Are Teenagers Reading Less? | Consider the Source

teen reading

A Common Sense Media study released earlier this month reported on findings from a number of surveys conducted by respected groups on “Children, Teens, and Reading,” But what questions did those surveys fail to ask?

Gothic Romances, Sci-Fi Adventures, and a John Green Readalike | What’s Hot in YA

LetsGetLost

Looking for a John Green readalike? Search no further than Adi Alsaid’s Let’s Get Lost. Carlos Ruiz Zafon’s eerie novel set in Barcelona will entice and haunt teens. And if you thought the dystopian and paranormal novels have worn out their welcome—Michelle Krys, Catherine Linka, and Kelsey Foster bring fresh takes to the tried-and-true genres. The following young adult, nonfiction, and crossover titles will grab reluctant and avid readers alike.

Teens Review ‘Shatter Me’, ‘MLB 14: The Show’, ‘Mario Golf: World Tour’

Shatter Me

Dub-step violin? You have got to give Lindsey Stirling’s album Shatter Me a listen. Like baseball and golf but would rather play indoors than out? MLB 14: The Show and Mario Golf: World Tour to the rescue!

“In the Margins” 2014 Nominees Announced

Caged Warrior

In the Margins (ITM), under the umbrella of Library Services for Youth in Custody, has announced the nominated titles for their 2014 book list. A couple may be familiar, but there are definitely some that will be new to you.

Teens Review Latest from Cremer, ‘One Man Guy’, ‘One Last Kiss’, and More

One Man Guy

Need to find something new to put in the hands of Downton Abbey followers? Love by the Morning Star is just the ticket. Andrea Cremer’s steampunk/alternative history title will delight fans. And check out a haunting readalike for Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall called My Last Kiss.