February 24, 2017

Subscribe to SLJ

Everything, Everything Movie Trailer is Here!

The Teen and I love the book Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon! It’s one of the few books that she has re-read and it made us both swoon. We are not swooners. So we are excited that this amazing book is being made into a movie. Today Anthony Breznican shared the movie trailer over at […]

Dr. Bully, a guest post by M.G. Hennessey

Today we are happy to share this post from author M.G. Hennessey as part of our Social Justice in YA Lit Project. Her book, The Other Boy, came out in 2016 and is about 12-year-old Shane, who is transgender. You can find out more about the #SJYALit Project here or by searching the hashtag here […]

Book Review: American Street by Ibi Zoboi

Publisher’s description American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture. On […]

Prejudice, Gun Violence, and Suicide: Barry Lyga Tackles It All in “Bang”

1702-POP-QA-BarryLyga-TN

Barry Lyga talks about what inspired his hard-hitting novel Bang, an SLJ February 2017 Popular Pick.

This article was published in School Library Journal's February 2017 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Middle School Monday: Spy on History Blog Tour and Giveaway

We are pleased to be today’s stop for the Spy on History blog tour! Here is the question put to me: If you could go back to anytime or place in history, where would you put your spy skills to use? This is such a difficult question! So many times in history would be fascinating […]

Sunday Reflections: Muslim Voices

If you know me at all, you know I am quite fond of my library minions. And when I say “my library minions,” I mean the teens and young adults I have gotten to know over the past many years working in high school and public libraries in central Minnesota. I’ve since moved and am […]

Friday Finds: February 10, 2017

This Week at TLT Sunday Reflections: Dear World, Here’s What We Want You to Know about Teen Girls Middle School Monday: It’s All About the Memes #SJYALit Reading Lists: Disability in YA Lit, a guest post by Natalie Korsavidis Book Review: At the Edge of the Universe by Shaun David Hutchinson Love and Justice: What […]

Book Review: The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

When I’m reviewing books for professional publications, I stay quiet about them on social media. I’m always really excited once a review comes out to be able to talk about the book, finally! Here’s one of my most recent reviews, which originally appeared in the February 2017 issue of School Library Journal. I am SO EXCITED to now […]

Book Review: Done Dirt Cheap by Sarah Nicole Lemon

When I’m reviewing books for professional publications, I stay quiet about them on social media. I’m always really excited once a review comes out to be able to talk about the book, finally! Here’s one of my most recent reviews, which originally appeared in the January 2017 issue of School Library Journal.   Done Dirt Cheap by […]

“Nevertheless, She Persisted” A Take 5 List, plus 1

Last night, Senator Elizabeth Warren was warned, then given an explanation, but nevertheless, she persisted in reading the words of another woman who was warned, given an explanation, and persisted: Coretta Scott King. In honor and in recognition of these and other women who, despite warning and explanation, persist in their efforts, we offer you this […]

Trigger Warnings and Emotional Distress

1702-Triggered-TN

How should librarians present material that may upset some students?

This article was published in School Library Journal's February 2017 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Teens Review the Latest Ellen Hopkins, Goblin Fantasy, and More

wintersong

Our teen reviewers tackle the latest novel in verse from Ellen Hopkins, an epic fantasy featuring goblins, and Tanya Lee Stone’s nonfiction work based on the acclaimed documentary Girl Rising.

Love and Justice: What I’ve learned from those seeking refuge in the U.S., a guest post by author Marie Marquardt

Today we are very honored to be talking with author Marie Marquardt about her work with Latin American immigrant families for the Social Justice in YA Lit Project. Her book, The Radius of Us, is very timely given recent events happening here in the United States. You can find out more about the #SJYALit Project […]

Programming 101 | Cupcake Wars with Teens

cc winner

See how a team of librarians got teens from L.D. Fargo (WI) Public Library to participate in a (delectable) YA program.

Interview: Renée Watson on YA Novel “Piecing Me Together”

Renee Watson. Photo courtesy of NAACP

SLJ chats with Renée Watson about her stirring YA novel Piecing Me Together .

Showcasing Marginalized Voices | Adult Books 4 Teens

Hiddenfigures

Now more than ever in America, young girls, people of color, and LGBTQ people need stories relevant to their lives. The following titles highlight these voices.

Book Review: At the Edge of the Universe by Shaun David Hutchinson

Publisher’s description From the author of We Are the Ants and The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley comes the heartbreaking story of a boy who believes the universe is slowly shrinking as things he remembers are being erased from others’ memories. Tommy and Ozzie have been best friends since the second grade, and boyfriends since […]

#SJYALit Reading Lists: Disabilty in YA Lit, a guest post by Natalie Korsavidis

As part of our 2017 Social Justice in Young Adult Literature project, we will be posting reading lists on various social justice-related subjects. Guest blogger Natalie Korsavidis pulled together this one on disabilities. We will mainly be focusing on books published after 2000. We encourage you to add any other titles you can think of in […]

Middle School Monday: It’s All About the Memes

This is going to be another one of those posts where I’m almost embarrassed to share this idea because it is so EASY. SIMPLE. But, who among us wouldn’t like some shared, simple ideas for library engagement? I ALWAYS want some! [That means: bring ‘em on, people!] Over the summer, I had hung up some […]

SLJ’s News Literacy Pinterest Page

fake news featured image2

An up-to-date news literacy resource curated by school media and ed tech specialist Jen Thomas.